Research Guides: CAC: Disease in American South: Resources

Provided by UAB Libraries

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Back issues of periodicals in economics, math and science, the humanities, and social sciences.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text of current and archival articles from 600+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually. 1990 - present.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Over seventy journal titles published by the APA, APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. 1894-present.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)

Peer Review

The process by which an academic journal passes a paper submitted for publication to independent experts for comments on its suitability and worth; refereeing. (source: Oxford English Dictionary)

Birmingham News This link opens in a new window
Birmingham history through the current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.
Associated Press Collections This link opens in a new window
Includes the Alabama Log (1966-1978), the Georgia Log (1971, 1973, 1976), and the Louisiana-Mississippi AP Log (1983)
Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes the Atlanta Constitution (1869-1875 & 1881-1945)
History Vault This link opens in a new window
Collections include: Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century and NAACP Papers. Content from 1909-1972. Includes an interesting collection from 1971 explicitly involving sickle cell anemia and the debate regarding its origins and prevalence. (Folder: 009060-003-0917)
Pellagra in Alabama This link opens in a new window
Transactions of the Medical Association of the State of Alabama, including the first time pellagra was recognized as an epidemic, are especially interesting.
The Gilded Age and Progressive Era This link opens in a new window
Collection of resources that traces the period after the Civil War in America that became known as the Gilded Age, all the way through to the Progressive Era from 1890's to the 1920's. Content ranges from mid-1800's to 1920's.

What are Primary Documents?

Primary documents are first hand accounts of an event or topic. They can take many forms and include things like letters, recordings, statistics, objects, and articles. They can even include things like the map below which includes area stops on the Louisville and Nashville Railroad in 1914. Is your town a stop?

Map Date: 1914 Source: University of Alabama Cartography Research Lab.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Includes law periodicals, the Congressional Record, U.S. Reports, trials, legal classics, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States treaties, the Federal Register and more.
Legislative & Executive Publications This link opens in a new window
Congressional publications, legislative histories, bills and laws, Congressional members and committees, regulations, Congressional Record, and political news.

What are Government Documents?

"Government Documents" is a umbrella term that really means any information published or produced by a government agency. This can include everything from reports completed for Congressional Commissions, and data sets collected by organizations like the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, to local records on cause of death and property tax records.

PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Documentary films and series covering history, science, health, technology, performing arts, psychology, education, anthropology, politics and literature.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Delivers video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Swank This link opens in a new window
1,000 most requested film titles, including latest box-office hits, documentaries, independent films, international movies and classics that support academic instruction and research.

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Web-based mapping application where users can quickly collect data to create thematic maps and custom reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. Includes D&B US Company Data, SimmonsLOCAL Data & EASI Health Data.
National Center for Health Statistics This link opens in a new window
Principal health statistics agency in U.S..

CAC: Disease in American South

Provided by UAB Libraries

Peer Review

How to Read a Scholarly Article

Click the image