Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physician Assistant Studies: Finding Articles

Research resources and search tips for UAB Surgical PA students

Key Databases

This page provides general instructions for finding journals and using databases to search for articles on a topic. For detailed guidance on using specific databases, see these additional pages of this guide:

  • PubMed (biomedical & life sciences)
  • Scopus (peer-reviewed, multidisciplinary literature; international coverage)
  • Google Scholar (multidisciplinary scholarly articles; full-text search)

No Online Full Text Available?

If an article is not available online at LHL, request it through LHL Interlibrary Loan. This typically takes 1-2 business days and is free for UAB employees/students.

Finding Journal Articles

Lister Hill Library has both online journals and a print journal collection. Currently, we only purchase e-journals, no print. If you have a citation to an article, this page of our Finding Full Text guide shows the most efficient way to access or request the complete article.

To find journal articles on a topic or by an particular author, use a database. The list of databases is found on the Databases page. Some heavily used databases are also conveniently located on our homepage.

Keep in mind that after graduation, CINAHL and Scopus are licensed by LHL and many hospitals. Both Google Scholar and PubMed are freely available, but full text is limited to what is publicly available and that licensed by your practice, hospital, or institution.

After searching and retrieving citations, link to available full text using the  button. 

How to use Full Text@UAB Libraries

After clicking on the Full Text@UAB Libraries button you will either be taken directly to a page with access to the article or you will be taken to a page with various options including a Google Scholar search and Illiad request forms.

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer