Anatomy and Physiology Books
Grant's Dissector by
Grant's Dissector , Sixteenth Edition , now revised to meet the needs of today's gross anatomy dissection courses, remains the go-to guide for dissection in the anatomy lab. This classic manual provides step-by-step dissection procedures with the instruction and anatomical detail you need to recognize important relationships revealed through dissection. Each chapter is consistently organized beginning with a "Dissection Overview," followed by detailed "Dissection Instructions," and concluding with a "Dissection Follow-up." The Dissection Overview provides a blueprint of what you will accomplish during the dissection session, and includes relevant surface anatomy as well as concise coverage of osteology. Dissection Instructions offer a logical sequence and numbered steps for the dissection. The Dissection Follow-up emphasizes important features of the dissection and encourages you to reflect on and synthesize the information. Newly revised for easy-to-follow consistency throughout every chapter. Dissection Overviews now include numbered, step-by-step instructions to guide you through relevant surface anatomy and osteology. Each step in the Dissection Instructions has been carefully reworded to clarify and improve the dissection experience. More than 30 new summary tables provide an excellent review resource and make the dissection steps more task-oriented and concise. Dissection Follow-up sections now contain a numbered list of tasks to perform following the dissection. Revised abdominal wall and head dissection instructions offer effective new approaches to these complex anatomical regions. More than 100 modified or brand-new illustrations throughout. Conveniently cross-referenced to Grant's Atlas of Anatomy and three other unique atlases for appropriate illustrations of each anatomical area. Clinical Correlation boxes are integrated into instructions and provide context for health care practice.
Netter's Atlas of Human Embryology E-Book by
Here's a rich pictorial review of normal and abnormal human prenatal development. For each body system or region, you'll find a brief description of the developmental plan, with key concepts and terminology, followed by discussions of histological principles, the classification of congenital defects, and basic cellular, molecular, and genetic concepts; An emphasis on morphological patterns in the embryo and fetus makes it easy to understand the structure and function of the adult body and the embryonic basis of birth defects. Summary tables and terminology sections at the end of each chapter, plus an appendix with all major congenital defects and their embryonic basis, make it easy to review course material and prepare for the USMLE.
Netter's Head and Neck Anatomy for Dentistry by
A concise and visual guide to clinically relevant anatomy for dentistry, Netter's Head and Neck Anatomy for Dentistry is an effective text for class and exam preparation, as well as a quick review in professional practice. Concise text, high-yield tables, clinical correlations, and review questions combine to make this new edition a perfect choice for learning and remembering the need-to-know structures, relationships, and concepts, while beautiful illustrations created in the Netter tradition enhance your visual mastery of the material. You may also be interested in: A companion set of flash cards, Netter's Advanced Head & Neck Anatomy Flash Cards, 3rd Edition. Over 100 multiple-choice questions complete with explanations help you assess your knowledge of the material and prepare for exams. Identify clinically relevant anatomy with Netter illustrations and new art created in the Netter tradition. Concise text and high-yield tables offer fast access to important facts. Procedures coverage gives context and clinical meaning to the anatomy. Expanded, up-to-date coverage on dental implants, cone beam imaging, and mandible osteology. Beautiful new illustrations by Carlos Machado, MD, of the TMJ, articular disc pathology, infratemporal fossa, pterygopalatine fossa, and maxillary artery. Interactive eBook included with print purchase, which includes access to the full text, interactive images, case studies, additional assessment questions, video clips from cone beam CTs, and a rotatable 3D skull.
Nolte's the Human Brain by
Popular for its highly visual and easy-to-follow approach, Nolte's The Human Brain helps demystify the complexities of the gross anatomy of the brain, spinal cord and brainstem. A clear writing style, interesting examples and visual cues bring this extremely complicated subject to life and more understandable. Get the depth of coverage you need with discussions on all key topics in functional neuroanatomy and neuroscience, giving you well-rounded coverage of this complex subject. Zero in on the key information you need to know with highly templated, concise chapters that reinforce and expand your knowledge. Develop a thorough, clinically relevant understanding through clinical examples providing a real-life perspective. Gain a greater understanding of every concept through a glossary of key terms that elucidates every part of the text; 3-dimensional brain. Acquaint yourself with the very latest advancements in the field with many illustrations using the most current neuroimaging techniques, reflecting recent developments and changes in understanding. Keep up with the latest knowledge in neural plasticity including formation, modification, and repair of connections, with coverage of learning and memory, as well as the coming revolution in ways to fix damaged nervous systems, trophic factors, stem cells, and more. NEW! Gauge your mastery of the material and build confidence with over 100 multiple choice questions that provide effective chapter review and quick practice for your exams. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references, and videos from the book on a variety of devices.
Physiology by
Renowned physiology instructor Dr. Linda Costanzo's friendly, logical, easy-to-follow writing style makes Physiology, 6th Edition ideal for coursework and USMLE preparation. Well-designed figures and tables provide handy visuals for procedures or physiologic equations, and step-by-step explanations clarify challenging concepts. This full-color, manageably-sized text offers a comprehensive and consistent overview of core physiologic concepts at the organ system and cellular levels, making complex principles easy to understand. Information is presented in a short, simple, and focused manner - the perfect presentation for success in coursework and on exams. Chapter summaries and "Challenge Yourself" questions at the end of each chapter provide an extensive review of the material and reinforce understanding and retention. Equations and sample problems are integrated throughout the text. Student ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book as well as new materials (outlined above) designed to produce a more rounded learning experience. NEW! More Clinical Physiology Case Boxes relate to pathophysiology for a clinical context. Student Consult access includes high-yield student FAQs with thorough explanations, animations, and NEW video tutorials from Dr. Costanzo.
Atlas of Human Anatomy by
Atlas of Human Anatomy uses Frank H. Netter, MD's detailed illustrations to demystify this often intimidating subject, providing a coherent, lasting visual vocabulary for understanding anatomy and how it applies to medicine. This 5th Edition features a stronger clinical focus-with new diagnostic imaging examples-making it easier to correlate anatomy with practice. Student Consult online access includes supplementary learning resources, from additional illustrations to an anatomy dissection guide and more. Netter. It's how you know. See anatomy from a clinical perspective with hundreds of exquisite, hand-painted illustrations created by, and in the tradition of, pre-eminent medical illustrator Frank H. Netter, MD. Join the global community of healthcare professionals who've mastered anatomy the Netter way! Expand your study at studentconsult.com, where you'll find a suite of learning aids including selected Netter illustrations, additional clinically-focused illustrations and radiologic images, videos from Netter's 3D Interactive Anatomy, dissection modules, an anatomy dissection guide, multiple-choice review questions, "drag-and-drop" exercises, clinical pearls, clinical cases, survival guides, surgical procedures, and more. Correlate anatomy with practice through an increased clinical focus, many new diagnostic imaging examples, and bonus clinical illustrations and guides online.
Essential Clinical Anatomy by
Essential Clinical Anatomy, Fifth Edition presents core anatomical concepts in a concise, student-friendly format. The text includes the hallmark blue Clinical Boxes, as well as surface anatomy and medical imaging features. It is an ideal text for shorter medical courses and health professions courses with a condensed coverage of anatomy. Essential Clinical Anatomy , like the authors' more comprehensive text, Clinically Oriented Anatomy , receives global acclaim for the relevance of its clinical correlations. The book emphasizes anatomy that is important in physical diagnosis for primary care, interpretation of diagnostic imaging, and understanding the anatomical basis of emergency medicine and general surgery. The 5th Edition features:" A NEW AND IMPROVED ART PROGRAM: Illustrations have been redrawn in a modern, updated style that enhances student understanding of key concepts CLINICAL BOXES: Renowned "blue boxes" highlight information on pathology, anatomical variation, trauma, the life cycle, surgical procedures, and diagnostic procedures SURFACE ANATOMY AND MEDICAL IMAGING: Chapters include surface anatomy and imaging sections to enhance clinical and diagnostic knowledge INTERACTIVE REVIEW QUESTIONS : Prepare for board and class exams with online review questions at thePoint.lww.com
Grant's Dissector by
Grant's Dissector walks students step by step through dissection procedures in the anatomy lab. Each chapter is consistently organized beginning with a brief study of surface anatomy followed by concise coverage of osteology, presenting important foundational structures that will aid in localization of soft tissue structures. Each dissection unit begins with a "Dissection Overview" providing a guide of what is to be accomplished during the dissection session. This is followed by "Dissection Instructions," with a logical sequence and numbered steps for the dissection. Each dissection concludes with a "Dissection Review" that presents a numbered lists of tasks illustrating the important features of the dissection and encouraging the synthesis of information.
Nolte's the Human Brain by
Popular for its highly visual and easy-to-follow approach, Nolte's The Human Brain helps demystify the complexities of the gross anatomy of the brain, spinal cord and brainstem. A clear writing style, interesting examples and visual cues bring this extremely complicated subject to life and more understandable. Get the depth of coverage you need with discussions on all key topics in functional neuroanatomy and neuroscience, giving you well-rounded coverage of this complex subject. Zero in on the key information you need to know with highly templated, concise chapters that reinforce and expand your knowledge. Develop a thorough, clinically relevant understanding through clinical examples providing a real-life perspective. Gain a greater understanding of every concept through a glossary of key terms that elucidates every part of the text; 3-dimensional brain. Acquaint yourself with the very latest advancements in the field with many illustrations using the most current neuroimaging techniques, reflecting recent developments and changes in understanding. Keep up with the latest knowledge in neural plasticity including formation, modification, and repair of connections, with coverage of learning and memory, as well as the coming revolution in ways to fix damaged nervous systems, trophic factors, stem cells, and more. NEW! Gauge your mastery of the material and build confidence with over 100 multiple choice questions that provide effective chapter review and quick practice for your exams. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references, and videos from the book on a variety of devices.
