Basic and Clinical Pharmacology 14th Edition by Bertram G. KatzungPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most up-to-date, comprehensive, and authoritative pharmacology text in health medicine--enhanced by a new full-color illustrations A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Organized to reflect the syllabi in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, Fourteenth Edition covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. Selection of the subject matter and order of its presentation are based on the authors' many years' experience in teaching this material to thousands of medical, pharmacy, dental, podiatry, nursing, and other health science students. To be as clinically relevant as possible, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects, and case studies that introduce clinical problems in many chapters. Presented in full color and enhanced by more than three hundred illustrations (many new to this edition), Basic & Clinical Pharmacology features numerous summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information. * Student-acclaimed summary tables conclude each chapter * Everything students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice * Strong emphasis on drug groups and prototypes * NEW! 100 new drug tables * Includes 330 full-color illustrations, case studies, and chapter-ending summary tables * Organized to reflect the syllabi of pharmacology courses * Descriptions of important new drugs
Publication Date: 2017-11-30
Handbook of Local Anesthesia by Stanley F. MalamedA practical, "how-to" guide to safe anesthesia practices in dentistry, Handbook of Local Anesthesia, 6th Edition covers all the latest advances in science, instrumentation, and pain control techniques. From basic concepts to specific injection techniques, from dosage charts to the proper care and handling of equipment, this book provides in-depth, full-color coverage of key anesthesia topics, including specific hazards and errors in technique that may result in complications. Written by Dr. Stanley Malamed, dentistry's leading expert on this subject, Handbook of Local Anesthesia is a valuable reference that will help you prevent, recognize, and manage complications of local anesthesia administration. Videos on an available companion DVD (sold separately) are narrated by Dr. Stanley Malamed, covering topics such as local anesthetic agents, anesthetic injection techniques, potential complications, and risk management. Full-color photographs and line drawings are included throughout the book. In-depth discussions cover the anesthetic agents used in dentistry, along with their clinical actions. Routes of administration are described for all anesthetics. The proper care and handling of equipment is addressed, along with the problems that may be encountered. Requirements for pain control and local anesthesia within various dental specialties are included. Comprehensive information on Articaine is included, a local anesthetic that is gaining widespread use in the United States. Numerous boxes and tables provide a quick reference and comparison of techniques, drugs, and dosages. Dosage charts, injection techniques, information on duration of action, and contraindications for local anesthetics are included at the end of the book for quick reference. Updated discussions of the armamentarium needed to succeed in local anesthesia delivery reflect the latest available drugs and devices. Updated discussions of the techniques needed to provide successful pain control. Updated step-by-step procedures cover the techniques for administering intraoral anesthesia. The latest advances in science, technology, and pain control techniques are covered.
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2012-03-21
Mosby's Dental Drug Reference by Arthur H. JeskeNo dental office should be without this quick-reference drug guide! Mosby's Dental Drug Reference, 12th Edition profiles the most commonly used drugs in dentistry, with emphasis on dental-specific considerations. More than 800 drug monographs make it easy to find information such as dosages, indications, contraindications, interactions, precautions, side effects, and serious reactions. Online resources include over 100 additional drug monographs, photos of common oral complications, patient education guides, and more. From lead editor Arthur Jeske, a well-known researcher and author in dental pharmacology, this pocket-sized reference provides the current, concise drug information you need at the point of care. More than 800 drug monographs include each drug's generic name, pronunciation, brand names, drug class, controlled substances schedule, mechanism of action, uses or indications, doses and routes of administration, side effects/adverse reactions, contraindications, precautions, pharmacokinetics, drug interactions of concern to dentistry, and more. Detailed dental considerations at the end of each monograph include an easy-to-use, bulleted list of specific dental-related information as well as general drug information. Durable, pocket-sized format provides essential drug information at a glance, and makes this guide ideal for chairside use. Emphasis on oral health, prevention, and treatment from the dental hygienist's perspective makes it easier to use drug information for patient and family education. Coverage of oral contraceptives provides dental information on these commonly used drugs, often known only by their brand names. Primers in the front of the guide include information on biologic agents, medication-related osteonecrosis of the jaw, and a list of online resources for the management of medically compromised patients along with management of common oral lesions. Evolve companion website includes more than 100 additional monographs, photos of common oral complications, patient education guides, information on herbs and alternative medicine, and more. NEW! More than 50 new monographs include newly released, FDA-approved drugs and up-to-date content on the latest drug therapies.
Publication Date: 2017-05-19
Netter's Illustrated Pharmacology Updated Edition by Robert B. Raffa; Scott M. Rawls; Elena Portyansky BeyzarovThis updated edition of Netter's Illustrated Pharmacology allows you to take a distinct visual approach to understanding both the basic science and clinical applications of pharmacology. Designed to be compatible and used in conjunction with other pharmacology resources, this medical reference book offers a vivid, uniquely effective visual presentation of the pharmacodynamic relationship between drugs and the human body. And with the new addition of Student Consult online access, Netter's Illustrated Pharmacology is even more convenient than ever before! Available online for the first time! Search the full contents of Netter's Illustrated Pharmacology no matter what your location with convenient access to Student Consult. Visually grasp the most important principles in pharmacology with succinct, easy-to-understand presentations of introductory pharmacologic principles based on classic images by Frank Netter, as well as dynamic new illustrations from other talented medical artists. Learn how drugs are used to treat specific disorders in the body, as well as their effects on a particular site, with a format divided by organ system and full-color illustrations of the systems themselves. Access in-depth guidance on the must-know elements of each pharmacologic principle with clear, concise notes located beneath the corresponding image.
Publication Date: 2013-10-22
Pharmacology by Karen WhalenStudents' favorite review resource for studying the essentials of medical pharmacology, Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews: Pharmacology , Seventh Edition, presents up-to-date drug information in an accessible format ideal for a fast, effective refresher. Part of the popular Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews series, this concise resource features clear, effective writing and hundreds of illustrations that break down complex information for rapid review. Sequential images present mechanisms of action and focus on showing rather than telling students how drugs work, and review questions with answers deliver powerful, practical exam preparation. Updated drug information reflects the most current, clinically relevant pharmacology material. Approachable outline format distills complex information for easier review. High-quality illustrations reinforce understanding in vibrant detail. Enhanced review questions with answers test students' understanding and identify areas for further study. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more