Art and Art History: Magazine & Journal Articles

Locate the Full Text of Journal Articles

If you don't see the full text of an article in the database you are searching, use these steps to find a copy of the article:

1. Choose  to check for full text in other library databases.

2. Search the Catalog to identify the call number and location (usually second floor) of the journal.

3. Request a copy of the article through Interlibrary Loan.

 

Find Magazine & Journal Articles

Search these databases to find articles published in art magazines and journals. Some of these databases also cover books, book chapters, and other types of publications.

Coverage dates indicate the publication dates of the articles and other sources described in each database.


Best Bets

Database that includes citations and abstracts for articles published in periodicals worldwide. Indexes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. Subjects covered include advertising art, antiques, archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, computers in art, crafts, decorative arts, fashion design, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, motion pictures, museology, non-Western art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, television, textiles, and video. Also indexes reproductions that appear in the periodicals covered. Includes citations to book reviews. Includes full text coverage of selected periodicals beginning in 1997.

Provides the same coverage of subjects and publication types as Art Full Text for the years 1929 through 1984. The database includes citations to book reviews from 1974 to 1984. Includes article citations only (no abstracts or full text).

Provides full text of the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes 19 journals in Art & Art History with the earliest title beginning in 1913. Most titles have a "moving wall" of coverage in which the last 3-5 years are not available. All journals can be browsed by table of contents or searched by author, article title, journal title, abstract, and keyword in the full text of articles. Individual journal titles in JSTOR can be accessed through the Sterne Library local catalog, also.


Other art databases with magazine and journal coverage:

Covers books, journal articles, conference proceedings, dissertations, festschriften, exhibition catalogs, reviews, and dealers' catalogs about European and American visual arts from late antiquity to present. Hosted by the Getty Research Institute. Bibliography of the History of Art is continued by International Bibliography of Art (IBA). 

Covers European art since late antiquity, American art since the colonial era, and global art since 1945. Includes visual art in all media: painting, sculpture, drawings, prints, decorative and applied arts, architecture and decorative arts, popular and folk art. Continues Bibliography of the History of Art.

A database containing citations, abstracts, and selected full text for articles in English-language humanities journals. Full text is available for articles from selected journals published 1994 to present. Useful for researching the relationship of literature to other topics such as music, painting, and philosophy. Also includes citations to reviews of books, motion pictures, radio programs, television programs, and videotapes. Preceded by the print index Humanities Index, RefStor AI 3 H85 (coverage: 1974/75-1995/96).

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer