Art and Art History: Exhibition & Book Reviews

Find Reviews of Exhibitions

Search these art databases for exhibition reviews. Follow Limit instructions to limit searches to exhibition reviews/descriptions.

Limit: Under Document Type choose Exhibit.

Limit: Combine the word exhibitions with the name of an artist and/or the name of a museum or other exhibit location.

Limit: Choose Advanced Search. Enter the title of the exhibition or the name of the artist in the first search box. Enter the words exhibition and review in the second search box. Make sure all drop-down menus in the first column are set to Any. Choose the Search button.

Limit: Under Document Type choose Exhibit.


Newspapers often publish reviews of art exhibitions. The following databases include citations or full text of articles from regional and national newspapers.

Provides the full text of articles from a variety of news, business, legal, and government publications. Also includes transcripts of major television news programs. Many files are updated daily. Search for the title of an exhibit or combine the word exhibition with the name of an artist and/or the name of a museum or other exhibit location.

Contains full text for 392 regional U.S. newspapers, 185 national and international newspapers, 21 newswires and newspaper columns, 26 TV and radio news transcripts, The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, and The Times (London). Also contains abstracts for The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal - Eastern Edition. Search for the title of an exhibit or combine the word exhibition with the name of an artist and/or the name of a museum or other exhibit location.

Find Reviews of Books

Before searching for a book review, know the:

  1. book title
  2. book author
  3. book original publication year

The coverage dates of the book review index or database should include the publication year of the book.

Search these databases for reviews of art and art history books. Follow Limit instructions to limit search results to book reviews.

Limit: Under Document Type choose Book Review.

Limit: Combine the word review with the name of an artist and/or the name of a museum or other exhibit location.

Limit: Choose Advanced Search. Enter the title of the book in the first search blank and choose contains phrase from the middle drop-down menu in that row. In the second search blank, enter review and choose contains phrase from the middle drop-down menu in that row.

Limit: Under Document Type choose Book Review.

Limit: Type the title of the book in quotation marks (e.g., "early medieval art in spain") in the first search blank. Check Reviews under NARROW BY: ITEM TYPE and click the SEARCH button.

Additional Review Sources

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer