Research Guides: Innovation & Entrepreneurship: Market Research

UAB Databases

Resources from UAB Libraries that provide up-to-date market research reports.

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Web-based mapping application where users can quickly collect data to create thematic maps and custom reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. Includes D&B US Company Data, SimmonsLOCAL Data & EASI Health Data.
BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Provides objective, unbiased measurement and assessment of market opportunities with detailed market research reports. Our experienced industry analysts assess growth opportunities, market sizing, technologies, applications, supply chains and companies with the singular goal of helping you make informed business decisions. *At the top right corner of the BCC Research site, choose "IP Authenticate" after clicking the "Member Login" button.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Over 1M multi-disciplinary statistics, facts and market data; includes company database, E-commerce and global consumer survey.

Making Sense of the U.S. Census

The U.S. Census Bureau provides a wealth of information about the American people and does far more than simply count the population every 10 years. The Census Bureau collects data on age, sex, race, family and relationships, income and benefits, health insurance, education, veteran status, and disabilities. This is only a partial list.

Census Data
Access demographic and economic data from the U.S. Census Bureau. This site combines data from many different surveys into one easy to search place.
American Time Use Survey
The American time use survey measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.
Consumer Expenditure Survey
The consumer expenditure survey provides information on the buying habits of Americans and the characteristics of those consumers.
Census Business Builder
Provides easy access to information about potential customers and similar businesses for those starting or planning a business. The data is presented in a map-based interface.