Research Guides: Philosophy: Find Overviews & Biographies

General Reference Databases

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Includes overviews of general historical and cultural events and personalities.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
"Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press" (from the database). Covers a range of subject areas (arts and humanities, social sciences, business, science and technology).
Gale E-Books This link opens in a new window
Collection of reference books covering a broad range of subject areas.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
"The national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors." Updated three times per year.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new window
An index to biographical essays published in encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources.

Philosophy Encyclopedias and Dictionaries - Online

Bioethics (Encyclopedia of Bioethics, 4th ed)
Broad coverage of essential topics in bioethics and related fields.
more...less...
Broad coverage of essential topics in bioethics and related fields.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy, 2nd ed
Aiming to cover the whole of philosophy, it "deals with ancient, medieval, and modern philosophy; and it discusses the theories of mathematicians, physicists, biologists, sociologists, psychologists, moral reformers, and religious thinkers where these have had an impact on philosophy."
more...less...
Aiming to cover the whole of philosophy, it "deals with ancient, medieval, and modern philosophy; and it discusses the theories of mathematicians, physicists, biologists, sociologists, psychologists, moral reformers, and religious thinkers where these have had an impact on philosophy."
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Provides detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
Oxford Companion to Philosophy
"Gives clear and reliable guidance to all areas of philosophy and to the ideas of all notable philosophers from antiquity to the present day."
more...less...
"Gives clear and reliable guidance to all areas of philosophy and to the ideas of all notable philosophers from antiquity to the present day."
Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy, 3rd ed
Clear and concise definitions on every aspect of philosophy.
more...less...
Clear and concise definitions on every aspect of philosophy.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
more...less...
Includes entries written and maintained by scholars with expertise in a variety of philosophical topics. A bibliography, links to other Internet resources, and cross references to related entries appear at the end of each entry.

Philosophy Encyclopedias and Dictionaries - Print

These books are located in the Reference Collection on the first floor of Sterne Library.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy An excellent starting point for comprehensive, interdisciplinary coverage of philosophers and areas of philosophy. Entries include bibliographies of suggested reading for additional information. Volume ten serves as an index to the set.
Call Number: Ref B 51 .R68 1998
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics Contains entries on specific topics within the following subject areas: theories of ethics; ethical concepts; medical ethics; scientific ethics; environmental ethics; legal ethics; ethics in education; ethics and politics; business and economic ethics; media ethics; ethics and social services; and social ethics.
Call Number: Ref BJ 63 E44 1998
Encyclopedia of Ethics, 2nd ed Emphasizes coverage of "ethical theory as pursued by English-speaking philosophers." Also includes entries on metaethics and applied ethics and biographies of important people in ethics theory. A bibliography for further reference ends each entry.
Call Number: Ref BJ 63 E45 2001
The MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences (MITECS) Includes entries on concepts and people in the cognitive sciences. The Preface includes introductory essays on "six fields that constitute the foundation of the cognitive sciences:" philosophy, psychology, neuroscience, computational intelligence, linguistics and language, and culture, cognition, and evolution.
Call Number: Ref BF 311 M556 1999