Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Case Studies for Engineering: E-books with Case Studies

E-books with Case Studies

Geothermal Power Plants: Principles, Applications, Case Studies and Environmental Impact, 4th edition. Butterworth-Heinemann, 2016

This resource covers all aspects of the utilization of geothermal energy for power generation using fundamental scientific and engineering principles. Its practical emphasis is enhanced by the use of global case studies from real plants and applications from around the world that increase the reader’s understanding of geothermal energy conversion and provide a unique compilation of hard-to-obtain data and experience.  [We also have the 2nd edition (2008) and the 3rd edition (2012).]

Beyond Failure: Forensic Case Studies for Civil Engineers. ASCE Press, 2009

This book presents the circumstances of important failures that have had far-reaching impacts on civil engineering practice.  Each case study narrates the known facts: design and construction, the failure, subsequent investigation or analysis, and, where appropriate, additional issues such as technical concerns, ethical considerations, professional practice issues, and long-term effects.

Pitfalls of Shoreline Stabilization: Selected Case Studies. Springer, 2012

This book explores, through a series of case studies from around the globe, the pitfalls of shoreline stabilization and provides a ready reference for those with an interest in shoreline management.

Microbial Source Tracking: Methods, Applications, and Case Studies. Springer, 2011

This book addresses subjects ranging from the fundamentals of MST methods, their pros and cons, and performance criteria necessary during method development, and application, to case studies from beach, agricultural, and urban watersheds. Separate chapters focus on viral-, protozoan-, chemical-, and mitochondrial DNA-based methods.

Project Management: Case Studies, 4th edition. Wiley, 2013

Case studies are an important part of project management education and training.  This book features cases covering value measurement in project management.  Also included is a ‘super case’, which covers all aspects of project management.

Sustainable Development in Practice: Case Studies for Engineers and Scientists. Wiley, 2004

This text looks at the ways of integrating sustainability aspects into science and engineering.  It includes case studies that provide real-world and practical examples for readers to work through.

Low Impact Development Technology: Design Methods and Case Studies. ASCE, 2015

As governments realize that traditional approaches to stormwater management are not achieving the desired environmental protection goals, they are increasingly adopting low impact development (LID) technology as the preferred approach to stormwater management.  This book contains 22 papers that address a wide range of LID design applications and includes a number of practical case studies.

Case Studies of Rehabilitation, Repair, Retrofitting, and Strengthening of StructuresIABSE, 2010

Case studies of structural rehabilitation, repair, retrofitting, strengthening, and upgrading of structures to help structural engineers. The selected studies cover a variety of structural types from different countries.

Case Studies in Reliability and Maintenance. Wiley, 2003

Reliability is one of the most important characteristics defining the quality of a product or system. One achieves high reliability through careful monitoring of design, materials and other input, production, quality assurance efforts, ongoing maintenance, and a variety of related decisions and activities. This volume features twenty-six case studies written by top experts in their fields, each illustrating exactly how reliability models are applied.

Eco-Efficient Construction and Building Materials: Life Cycle Assessment (LCA), Eco-Labelling and Case Studies. Woodhead, 2014

This book reviews ways of assessing the environmental impact of construction and building materials.  Part one discusses the application of life cycle assessment (LCA) methodology to building materials as well as eco-labeling.  Part two includes case studies showing the application of LCA methodology to different types of building material.

Concentrate Management in Desalination: Case Studies. ASCE, 2012

This report examines many facets of concentrate management in desalination, including process design and configuration, regulatory setting, environmental issues, and economic evaluation of projects. Twelve case studies are offered to demonstrate different techniques for disposing of concentrates associated with the following types of projects: zero liquid discharge (ZLD) and near-ZLD disposal; discharge to oceans and bays; deep-well injection, land application, and evaporation ponds; and discharge to sanitary sewers or surface waters.

Handbook of Materials Failure Analysis with Case Studies from the Chemicals, Concrete and Power Industries. Elsevier, 2016

This handbook covers analysis of materials failure in the chemical, power, and structures arenas.  Material defects, mechanical failure as a result of improper design, corrosion, surface fracture, and other failure mechanisms are described in the context of real world case studies involving steam generators, boiler tubes, gas turbine blades, welded structures, chemical conversion reactors and more.

Handbook of Materials Failure Analysis with Case Studies from the Aerospace and Automotive Industries. Elsevier, 2015

This book provides a thorough understanding of the reasons materials fail in certain situations, covering important scenarios, including material defects, mechanical failure as a result of improper design, corrosion, surface fracture, and other environmental causes.  It includes case studies illustrating each type of failure.

Handbook of Materials Failure Analysis with Case Studies from the Oil and Gas Industry. Elsevier, 2016

This book combines introductory sections on failure analysis with numerous real world case studies of pipelines and other types of materials failure in the oil and gas industry, including joint failure, leakage in crude oil storage tanks, failure of glass fiber reinforced epoxy pipes, and failure of stainless steel components in offshore platforms, amongst others.

Engineering Materials 2: An Introduction to Microstructures and Processing. Elsevier, 2013

This book provides a concise introduction to the microstructures and processing of materials and shows how these are related to the properties required in engineering design.  It includes case studies, worked examples, and links to relevant websites and video clips.

Failure Analysis of Engineering Structures: Methodology and Case Histories. ASM International, 2005

Chapters in the book cover common causes of failures with numerous examples, methodology of failure analysis including some advanced techniques, various mechanisms of failures and characteristic macroscopic and microscopic features that provide significant clues to their causes.  The authors also provide exemplary coverage on the detection and identification of damage from explosive sabotage. A separate section with more than 50 case studies of service failures also provides valuable lessons for future designers, manufacturers, users, and maintenance personnel.

Application of Smart Grid Technologies: Case Studies in Saving Electricity in Different Parts of the World. Academic Press, 2018.

A brief overview of smart grid concepts and state-of-the art technologies is followed by sections that highlight smart grid experiences in Asia, Africa, North America, South America, Europe and Australasia. Chapters address select countries or sub-regions, presenting their local technological needs and specificities, status of smart grid implementation, technologies of choice, impacts on their electricity markets, and future trends.

 

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer