Case Studies for Engineering E-books with Case Studies

A brief overview of smart grid concepts and state-of-the art technologies is followed by sections that highlight smart grid experiences in Asia, Africa, North America, South America, Europe and Australasia. Chapters address select countries or sub-regions, presenting their local technological needs and specificities, status of smart grid implementation, technologies of choice, impacts on their electricity markets, and future trends.

This book presents the circumstances of important failures that have had far-reaching impacts on civil engineering practice. Each case study narrates the known facts: design and construction, the failure, subsequent investigation or analysis, and, where appropriate, additional issues such as technical concerns, ethical considerations, professional practice issues, and long-term effects.

Using a case study approach, this reference tests the reader's ability to apply engineering fundamentals to real-world examples and receive constructive feedback Case Studies in Mechanical Engineering provides real life examples of the application of engineering fundamentals. The cases serve as supplements to fundamental courses in thermodynamics, fluid mechanics, heat transfer, instrumentation, economics, and statistics. Each case study provides methods to present an argument, work with clients, recommend action and develop new business.

Reliability is one of the most important characteristics defining the quality of a product or system. One achieves high reliability through careful monitoring of design, materials and other input, production, quality assurance efforts, ongoing maintenance, and a variety of related decisions and activities. This volume features twenty-six case studies written by top experts in their fields, each illustrating exactly how reliability models are applied.

This report examines many facets of concentrate management in desalination, including process design and configuration, regulatory setting, environmental issues, and economic evaluation of projects. Twelve case studies are offered to demonstrate different techniques for disposing of concentrates associated with the following types of projects: zero liquid discharge (ZLD) and near-ZLD disposal; discharge to oceans and bays; deep-well injection, land application, and evaporation ponds; and discharge to sanitary sewers or surface waters. [We also have the 2012 edition.]

This book reviews ways of assessing the environmental impact of construction and building materials. Part one discusses the application of life cycle assessment (LCA) methodology to building materials as well as eco-labeling. Part two includes case studies showing the application of LCA methodology to different types of building material.

This book provides an in-depth analysis with extended discussions and study questions of case studies that are based on real work situations. Important concepts, such as rights and obligations; conflict of interest; professionalism and mentoring; confidentiality; whistleblowing; bribery, fraud, and corruption; and ethical communication with the public in a social media world, are discussed in practical and approachable terms.

This book provides a concise introduction to the microstructures and processing of materials and shows how these are related to the properties required in engineering design. It includes case studies, worked examples, and links to relevant websites and video clips.

This book provides detailed and practical guidance in making decisions about the many ethical issues practicing engineers may face in their professional lives. It outlines a decision-making procedure and helps engineers construct an ethics toolkit consisting of professional models, a comprehensive set of ethical considerations and factors that help in weighing those considerations, and analyses of particular issues, such as reverse engineering a patented process. Illustrating case studies, both brief and detailed, are provided.

Chapters in the book cover common causes of failures with numerous examples, methodology of failure analysis including some advanced techniques, various mechanisms of failures and characteristic macroscopic and microscopic features that provide significant clues to their causes. The authors also provide exemplary coverage on the detection and identification of damage from explosive sabotage. A separate section with more than 50 case studies of service failures also provides valuable lessons for future designers, manufacturers, users, and maintenance personnel.

This book provides short descriptions of 50 real-world examples of constructed works that did not perform as intended. Designed for classroom use, each case study contains a brief summary, lessons learned, and references to key sources. Topics include: foundation failures; embankment, dam, and slope failures; geoenvironmental failures; bridge failures; and building failures.

This resource covers all aspects of the utilization of geothermal energy for power generation using fundamental scientific and engineering principles. Its practical emphasis is enhanced by the use of global case studies from real plants and applications from around the world that increase the reader’s understanding of geothermal energy conversion and provide a unique compilation of hard-to-obtain data and experience.  [We also have the 2nd edition (2008) and the 3rd edition (2012).]

This book provides a thorough understanding of the reasons materials fail in certain situations, covering important scenarios, including material defects, mechanical failure as a result of improper design, corrosion, surface fracture, and other environmental causes. It includes case studies illustrating each type of failure.

This handbook covers analysis of materials failure in the chemical, power, and structures arenas, where the failure of a single component can result in devastating consequences and costs. Material defects, mechanical failure as a result of improper design, corrosion, surface fracture, and other failure mechanisms are described in the context of real world case studies involving steam generators, boiler tubes, gas turbine blades, welded structures, chemical conversion reactors and more.

This handbook provides a thorough understanding of the reasons materials fail in certain situations, covering important scenarios including material defects, mechanical failure due to various causes, and improper material selection and/or corrosive environment. The book begins with a general overview of materials failure analysis and its importance, and then logically proceeds from a discussion of the failure analysis process, types of failure analysis, and specific tools and techniques, to chapters on analysis of materials failure from various causes.

This handbook examines the reasons materials fail in certain situations, including material defects and mechanical failure as a result of various causes. The book begins with a general overview of materials failure analysis and its importance. It then proceeds to discussions on the types of failure analysis, specific tools and techniques, and an analysis of materials failure from various causes.

This handbook covers analysis of materials failure in the chemical, power, and structures arenas. Material defects, mechanical failure as a result of improper design, corrosion, surface fracture, and other failure mechanisms are described in the context of real world case studies involving steam generators, boiler tubes, gas turbine blades, welded structures, chemical conversion reactors and more.

As governments realize that traditional approaches to storm water management are not achieving the desired environmental protection goals, they are increasingly adopting low impact development (LID) technology as the preferred approach to storm water management. This book contains 22 papers that address a wide range of LID design applications and includes a number of practical case studies.

This book addresses subjects ranging from the fundamentals of MST methods, their pros and cons, and performance criteria necessary during method development, and application, to case studies from beach, agricultural, and urban watersheds. Separate chapters focus on viral-, protozoan-, chemical-, and mitochondrial DNA-based methods.

Case studies are an important part of project management education and training. This book features cases covering value measurement in project management. Also included is a ‘super case’, which covers all aspects of project management. [We also have the 2003 edition.]

This book presents unified design approach for strengthening concrete members with different techniques such as concrete, steel, and FRP jacketing. Preference between the various techniques is explained in light of strengthening limits, procedures, and application for each case. The case studies include structures subjected to gravity loads, lateral loads, elevated temperature, and differential settlement of the foundations. The case studies include conventional reinforced concrete, post-tensioned, and precast concrete members.

This text looks at the ways of integrating sustainability aspects into science and engineering. It includes case studies that provide real-world and practical examples for readers to work through.

Management and technology experts Thomas Davenport and Steven Miller show that, contrary to widespread predictions, prescriptions, and denunciations, AI is not primarily a job destroyer. Rather, AI changes the way we work--by taking over some tasks but not entire jobs, freeing people to do other, more important and more challenging work. By offering detailed, real-world case studies of AI-augmented jobs in settings that range from finance to the factory floor, Davenport and Miller also show that AI in the workplace is not the stuff of futuristic speculation.