Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cuban American Fiction in English: Biographies, Interviews, and Memoirs

Bibliography of Cuban-American Fiction originally written in English

Biographies, Interviews, and Memoirs

Abella, Alex

“Alex Abella.” Contemporary Authors Online. Detroit: Gale, 2009. Contemporary Authors. Web. 10 April 2012.

Figueredo, D.H. “Abella, Alex.” Encyclopedia of Caribbean Literature. Vol.1. Westport: Greenwood, 2006. 1-2.

———. “Writing the Cuban Revolution Novel: A Conversation with Alex Abella.” Multicultural Review 7.1 (1998): 47-49.

Behar, Ruth

“Behar, Ruth.” Contemporary Authors Online. Detroit: Gale, 2000. Contemporary Authors. Web. 31 Aug. 2002.

Bernardo, José Raul

Figueredo, D.H. “Bernardo, José Raul.” Encyclopedia of Caribbean Literature. Vol.1. Westport: Greenwood, 2006. 85.

Bertematti, Richard

“Bertematti, Richard.” Contemporary Authors Online. Detroit: Gale, 2001. Contemporary Authors. Web. 4 Aug. 2002.

Bevin, Teresa

“Biography – Teresa Bevin.” Teresa Bevin. 2010. Web. 27 Apr. 2012.

Engle, Margarita

Del Rio, Eduardo R. “Engle, Margarita.” The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Multiethnic American Literature. Vol. 2. Westport: Greenwood, 2005. 661-63.

“Engle, Margarita.” Contemporary Authors Online. Detroit: Gale, 2001. Contemporary Authors. Web. 31 Aug. 2002.

Martínez, María del Carmen. Latino and Latina Writers. Ed. Alan West-Durán. Vol. 2. New York: Scribner’s, 2004. 581-90.

Montes, Rafael. “Engle, Margarita.” Encyclopedia of Hispanic-American Literature. Ed. Luz Elena Ramirez. New York: Facts on File, 2008.

Fernández, Roberto G.

Binder, Wolfgang. “Roberto G. Fernández.” American Contradictions: Interviews with Nine American Writers. Ed. Wolfgang Binder and Helbrecht Breinig. Hanover: UP of New England, 1995. 1-18.

Del Rio, Eduardo R. “Fernandez, Roberto G.” The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Multiethnic American Literature. Vol. 2. Westport: Greenwood, 2005. 720-21.

Fernandez, Roberto G. “Escaping the Humors.” Interview by Isabel Alvarez Borland. Identity, Memory, and Diaspora: Voices of Cuban-American Artists, Writers, and Philosophers. Ed. Jorge J. E. Gracia, Lynette M. F. Bosch, and Isabel Alvarez Borland. Albany: State U of New York P, 2008. 164-79.

“Fernández, Roberto.” The Hispanic American Almanac: A Reference Work on Hispanics in the United States. Ed. Nicolás Kanellos. Detroit: Gale, 1997. 492-93.

“Fernández, Roberto G.” Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Cuban Literature. Ed. Julio A. Martínez. New York: Greenwood, 1990.

“Fernández, Roberto G.” Escritores de la Diáspora Cubana: Manual Biobibliográfica / Cuban Exile Writers: A Biobibliographic Handbook. Eds. Daniel C. Maratos and Marnesba D. Hill. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow, 1986. 129-30.

Figueredo, D.H. “Fernandez, Roberto G.” Encyclopedia of Caribbean Literature. Vol. 1. Westport: Greenwood, 2006. 292-93.

Irizarry, Guillermo B. “Roberto G. Fernández.” Latino and Latina Writers. Ed. Allan West-Durán. Vol. 2. New York: Scribner’s, 2004. 591-611.

Pena, Silvia Novo. “Fernández, Roberto.” Biographical Dictionary of Hispanic Literature in the United States: The Literature of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Other Hispanic Writers. New York: Greenwood, 1989. 95-99.

"Roberto G. Fernandez." Contemporary Authors Online. Detroit: Gale, 2007. Literature Resource Center. Web. 10 Apr. 2012.

Fraxedas, J. Joaquin

Lagaron, Beth. “Fraxedas, J. Joaquin.” The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Multiethnic American Literature. Vol. 2. Westport: Greenwood, 2005. 765-66.

García, Cristina

Abani, Chris. “Cristina García.” Bomb 99 (2007): 34-7. Print.

Augenbraum, Harold. “García, Cristina.” Contemporary Novelists. 7th ed. Ed. Neil Schlager and Josh Lauer. Detroit: St. James, 2001. 354-55.

"Cristina García." Contemporary Authors Online. Detroit: Gale, 2008. Literature Resource Center. Web. 10 Apr. 2012.

“García, Cristina.” Encyclopedia of Hispanic-American Literature. Ed. Luz Elena Ramirez. New York: Facts on File, 2008.

“García, Cristina.” Notable Hispanic American Women. Detroit: Gale, 1993. 167.

Irizarry, Ylce. “An Interview with Cristina García.” Contemporary Literature 48.2 (2007): 175-94.

Karim, Persis M. "Cristina García." Twenty-first-Century American Novelists. Ed. Lisa Abney and Suzanne Disheroon Green. Detroit: Gale, 2004. Dictionary of Literary Biography 292.

Lawrence, Amanda M. “García, Cristina.” The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Multiethnic American Literature. Vol. 2. Westport: Greenwood, 2005. 789-91.

López, Iraida H. “‘…And There Is Only My Imagination Where Our History Should Be’: An Interview with Cristina García.” Michigan Quarterly Review 33.3 (1994): 605-17.

Luis, William. “García, Cristina.” Encyclopedia of Caribbean Literature. Vol.1. Westport: Greenwood, 2006. 319-20.

Meier, Matt S. “Cristina García.” Notable Latino Americans: A Biographical Dictionary. Westport: Greenwood, 1997. 165-68.

Rivero, Eliana. “Cristina García.” Latino and Latina Writers. Ed. Allan West-Durán. Vol. 2. New York: Scribner’s, 2004. 635-51.

Viera, Joseph M. “Exile among Exiles.” Poets and Writers 26.5 (1998): 40-45.

Vorda, Allan. “A Fish Swims in My Lung: An Interview with Cristina García.” Face to Face: Interviews with Contemporary Novelists. Ed. Allan Vorda. Houston: Rice UP, 1993. 61-76.

García-Aguilera, Carolina

Figueredo, D.H. “García-Aguilera, Carolina.” Encyclopedia of Caribbean Literature. Vol. 1. Westport: Greenwood, 2006. 320-21.

“García-Aguilera, Carolina.” Contemporary Authors Online. Detroit: Gale, 2000. Contemporary Authors. Web. 31 Aug. 2002.

González-Cruz, Luis

“González-Cruz, Luis F.” Biographical Dictionary of Hispanic Literature in the United States: The Literature of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Other Hispanic Writers. New York: Greenwood, 1989. 131-37.

“González-Cruz, Luis Francisco.” Escritores de la Diáspora Cubana: Manual Biobibliográfica / Cuban Exile Writers: A Biobibliographic Handbook. Ed. Daniel C. Maratos and Marnesba D. Hill. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1986. 171-72.

Huidobro, Matías Montes. “González-Cruz, Luis Francisco.” Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Cuban Literature. Ed. Julio A. Martínez. New York: Greenwood, 1990. 200-03.

Herrera, Andrea O’Reilly

"Andrea O'Reilly Herrera." Contemporary Authors Online. Detroit: Gale, 2005. Contemporary Authors. Web. 10 Apr. 2012.

Rubio, Raúl. “Herrera, Andrea O’Reilly.” Encyclopedia of Hispanic-American Literature. Ed. Luz Elena Ramirez. New York: Facts on File, 2008.

Hijuelos, Oscar

Coffey, Michael. “PW Interviews: Oscar Hijuelos.” Publishers Weekly 236 (July 21, 1989): 42, 44.

Deaver, William O., Jr. “Hijuelos, Oscar.” Encyclopedia of American Literature. Ed. Steven R. Serafin. New York: Continuum, 1999. 520-21.

Gilbert, Craig. “Hijuelos, Oscar.” Identities and Issues in Literature, Volume 2: Emigration and Immigration—On These I Stand. Ed. David Peck. Pasadena: Salem, 1997. 487-88.

Harmon, A. G. “A Conversation with Oscar Hijuelos.” Image 22 (1999): 43-57.

Gonzalez, Jose B. “Hijuelos, Oscar.” The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Multiethnic American Literature. Vol. 2. Westport: Greenwood, 2005. 982-84.

Hijuelos, Oscar. Thoughts without Cigarettes: A Memoir. New York: Gotham, 2011.

“Hijuelos, Oscar.” Biographical Dictionary of Hispanic Americans. 2nd ed. New York: Checkmark, 2001. 134-35.

“Hijuelos, Oscar.” Contemporary Authors Online. Detroit: Gale, 2001. Web. 31 Aug. 2002

“Hijuelos, Oscar.” The Hispanic American Almanac: A Reference Work on Hispanics in the United States. Ed. Nicolás Kanellos. Detroit: Gale, 1997. 494-95.

“Hijuelos, Oscar.” Hispanic Literature Criticism. Vol. 1. Detroit: Gale, 1994. 700-10.

“Hijuelos, Oscar.” World Authors: 1985-1990. Ed. Vineta Colby. New York: H.W. Wilson, 1995. 352-54.

Hill, Christine M. “Oscar Hijuelos.” Ten Hispanic American Authors. Berkeley Heights: Enslow, 2002. 45-53.

Jaimes, Héctor. “Oscar Hijuelos.” Latino and Latina Writers. Ed. Allan West-Durán. Vol. 2. New York: Scribner’s, 2004. 653-69.

Meier, Matt S. “Oscar Hijuelos.” Notable Latino Americans: A Biographical Dictionary. Westport: Greenwood, 1997. 194-98.

Morgan, Bridget M. “Hijuelos, Oscar.” Reference Guide to American Literature. 3rd ed. Ed. Jim Kamp. New York: St. James, 1994. 418-20.

"Oscar Hijuelos." Contemporary Authors Online. Detroit: Gale, 2011. Contemporary Authors. Web. 10 Apr. 2012.

Oviedo, José Miguel. “Six Problems for Oscar Hijuelos: A Conversation with José Miguel Oviedo". Review 63 (2001): 73-79.

Pérez Firmat, Gustavo. “Oscar Hijuelos.” Modern Latin-American Fiction Writers, Second Series. Detroit: Gale Research, 1994. 148-54. Print. Dictionary of Literary Biography 145.

Shapiro, Daniel and D.H. Figueredo. “Hijuelos, Oscar.” Encyclopedia of Caribbean Literature. Vol. 1. Westport: Greenwood, 2006. 389-90.

Smith, Dinitia. “‘Sisters’ Act: Oscar Hijuelos, Mr. ‘Mambo Kings,’ Plays a Different Song of Love.” New York Magazine 26 (March 1, 1993): 46-51.

Viera, Joseph M. “Oscar Hijuelos.” American Writers: A Collection of Literary Biographies, Supplement VIII: T.C. Boyle to August Wilson. Ed. Jay Parini. New York: Scribner’s, 2001. 73-91.

Weir, Zach. “Hijuelos, Oscar.” Encyclopedia of Hispanic-American Literature. Ed. Luz Elena Ramirez. New York: Facts on File, 2008.

Lamazares, Ivonne

Holleran, Karen E. “Lamazares, Ivonne.” Encyclopedia of Hispanic-American Literature. Ed. Luz Elena Ramirez. New York: Facts on File, 2008.

“Lamazares, Ivonne.” Contemporary Authors Online. Detroit: Gale, 2001. Web. 31 Aug. 2002.

Medina, Pablo

“A Conversation with Pablo Medina.” Florida Review 33.1 (2008): 146-50.

Del Rio, Eduardo R. “Medina, Pablo.” The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Multiethnic American Literature. Vol. 3. Westport: Greenwood, 2005. 1448-49.

Figueredo, D.H. “Medina, Pablo.” Encyclopedia of Caribbean Literature. Vol. 2. Westport: Greenwood, 2006. 522-24.

Medina, Pablo. “A Baratan Experience.” Interview by Isabel Alvarez Borland. Identity, Memory, and Diaspora: Voices of Cuban-American Artists, Writers, and Philosophers. Ed. Jorge J. E. Gracia, Lynette M. F. Bosch, and Isabel Alvarez Borland. Albany: State U of New York P, 2008. 145-53.

———. Exiled Memories: A Cuban Childhood. New York: Persea, 2002.

———. “The Labyrinth of Mirrors: What’s in a Name?” Hopscotch 1.4 (1999): 90-97.

———. “The Mark of Exile.” Boston Review 30.2 (2005): 48.

Orfalea, Gregory. “Medina, Pablo.” Literary Exile in the Twentieth Century: An Analysis and Biographical Dictionary. New York: Greenwood, 1991. 467-68.

“Pablo Medina.” Contemporary Authors Online. Detroit: Gale, 2001. Contemporary Authors. Web. 31 Aug. 2002.

Mestre, Ernesto

“Mestre, Ernesto.” Contemporary Authors Online. Detroit: Gale, 2000. Contemporary Authors. Web. 31 Aug. 2002.

Muñoz, Elías Miguel

Deaver, William O., Jr. “Munoz, Elías Miguel.” Encyclopedia of American Literature. Ed. Steven R. Serafin. New York: Continuum, 1999. 794-95.

Figueredo, D.H. “Mu oz, Elías Miguel.” Encyclopedia of Caribbean Literature. Vol. 2. Westport: Greenwood, 2006. 562-63.

Miller, John Charles. “Mu oz, Elías Miguel.” Encyclopedia of Hispanic-American Literature. Ed. Luz Elena Ramirez. New York: Facts on File, 2008.

“Mu oz, Elías Miguel.” Escritores de la Diáspora Cubana: Manual Biobibliográfica / Cuban Exile Writers: A Biobibliographic Handbook. Eds. Daniel C. Maratos and Marnesba D. Hill. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1986. 246-47.

Oliva, Karina. “Elías Miguel Munoz.” Latino and Latina Writers. Ed. Allan West-Durán. Vol. 2. New York: Scribner’s, 2004. 681-98.

Ortiz, Roberto Carlos. “Mu oz, Elías Miguel.” The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Multiethnic American Literature. Vol. 3. Westport: Greenwood, 2005. 1553-54.

Novas, Himilce

“Novas, Himilce.” Contemporary Authors Online. Detroit: Gale, 2002. Contemporary Authors. Web. 31 Aug. 2002.

Obejas, Achy

de la Tierra, Tatiana. “Achy Obejas ‘All the Way from Cuba.’” Denuve 5.2 (1995): 38-39.

Elliott, Victoria Stagg. “Obejas, Achy (Alicia).” Gay and Lesbian Literature. Volume 2. Detroit: St. James, 1994. 276.

Feerst, Alex. “Obejas, Achy.” Encyclopedia of Hispanic-American Literature. Ed. Luz Elena Ramirez. New York: Facts on File, 2008.

Fiol-Matta, Licia. “Achy Obejas.” Latino and Latina Writers. Ed. Allan West-Durán. Vol. 2. New York: Scribner’s, 2004. 699-715.

Harper, Jorjet. “Dancing to a Different Beat: An Interview with Achy Obejas.” Lambda Book Report 5.3 (1996): 5-7.

Kleindienst, Kris. “The Clash of Cuban American Cultures: Talking with Writer Achy Obejas about Her Life and Work.” GCN: Gay Community News 23.1 (1997): 10-15.

Nance, Kevin. "The Voyage of Many Returns: In Her Life and Fiction, Cuban American Novelist Achy Obejas Returns Time and Again to Her Beloved Havana, Completing a Trip That Her Family Began on a Small Wooden Boat over Forty-five Years Ago." Poets & Writers 37.2 (2009): n.pag. Literature Resource Center. Web. 10 Apr. 2012.

“Obejas, Achy.” Contemporary Authors Online. Detroit: Gale, 2000. Contemporary Authors. Web. 17 Nov. 2001.

Roca, Ana and Helena Alonso. “Obejas, Achy.” American Women Writers: A Critical Reference Guide from Colonial Times to the Present. Detroit: St. James, 2000. 222-23. .

Seaman, Donna. “The Booklist Interview: Achy Obejas.” Booklist 17.19-20 (2001): 1816-17.

Smorkaloff, Pamela María. “Obejas, Achy.” Encyclopedia of Caribbean Literature. Vol. 2. Westport: Greenwood, 2006. 590-91.

Pérez Firmat, Gustavo

Borland, Isabel Alvarez. “Gustavo Pérez Firmat.” Latino and Latina Writers. Ed. Allan West-Durán. Vol. 2. New York: Scribner’s, 2004. 717-36.

Dick, Bruce Allen. “A Conversation with Gustavo Pérez Firmat.” Michigan Quarterly Review 40.4 (2001): 682-92.

Figueredo, D.H. “Pérez Firmat, Gustavo.” Encyclopedia of Caribbean Literature. Vol. 2. Westport: Greenwood, 2006. 624-25.

Pérez, Rolando. “Pérez Firmat, Gustavo.” Encyclopedia of Hispanic-American Literature. Ed. Luz Elena Ramirez. New York: Facts on File, 2008.

Perez Firmat, Gustavo. “What Sounds Good Also Rings True.” Interview by Isabel Alvarez Borland. Identity, Memory, and Diaspora: Voices of Cuban-American Artists, Writers, and Philosophers. Ed. Jorge J. E. Gracia, Lynette M. F. Bosch, and Isabel Alvarez Borland. Albany: State U of New York P, 2008. 134-44.

“Pérez Firmat, Gustavo (Francisco).” Contemporary Authors Online. Detroit: Gale, 2001. Contemporary Authors. Web. 31 Aug. 2002.

Wall, Catharine E. “Pérez Firmat, Gustavo.” The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Multiethnic American Literature. Vol. 4. Westport: Greenwood, 2005. 982-84.

Rivera, Beatriz

Aldama, Frederick Luis. “An Interview with Beatriz Rivera.” MELUS 28.2 (2003): 151-62.

“Rivera, Beatriz.” Contemporary Authors Online. Detroit: Gale, 2001. Contemporary Authors. Web. 31 Oct. 2002.

Rubio (Albet), Carlos

“Carlos Rubio Albet.” Guide to Resources for the Study of West Virginia Authors and Appalachian Literary Traditions. Annie Merner Pfeiffer Library West Virginia Wesleyan College. n.d. Web. 24 August 2004.

Suarez, Ana Veciana

Suarez, Ana Veciana. Birthday Parties in Heaven: Thoughts on Love, Life, Grief, and Other Matters of the Heart. New York: Plume, 2000.

Suárez, Virgil

Fernández, Roberto G. “Virgilio Suárez.” Latino and Latina Writers. Ed. Allan West-Durán. Vol. 2. New York: Scribner’s, 2004. 747-61.

Figueredo, D.H. “Suárez, Virgil.” Encyclopedia of Caribbean Literature. Vol. 2. Westport: Greenwood, 2006. 763-64.

Fowler, Anne Marie. “Suárez, Virgil.” Encyclopedia of Hispanic-American Literature. Ed. Luz Elena Ramirez. New York: Facts on File, 2008.

Mayo, James. “Electric Dialogue: An E-mail Conversation with Virgil Suárez.” Bilingual Review 26 (2001): 56-63.

del Rio, Eduardo R. “Suárez, Virgil.” The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Multiethnic American Literature. Vol. 4. Westport: Greenwood, 2005. 2111-12.

Suárez, Virgil. “In Praise of Mentors: or how I became a Cuban American Writer.” Multicultural Review 6.1 (1997): 30-37.

Suarez, Virgil. “Writing without Masks.” Interview by Isabel Alvarez Borland. Identity, Memory, and Diaspora: Voices of Cuban-American Artists, Writers, and Philosophers. Ed. Jorge J. E. Gracia, Lynette M. F. Bosch, and Isabel Alvarez Borland. Albany: State U of New York P, 2008. 154-63.

“Suárez, Virgil.” Contemporary Authors Online. Detroit: Gale, 2000. Contemporary Authors. Web. 17 Nov. 2001.

“Suárez, Virgil.” World Authors 1990-1995. Ed. Clifford Thompson. New York: H.W. Wilson, 1999. 767-69.

Vandegrift, William T., Jr. “The Work We Leave Behind: An Interview with Virgil Suárez.” Quarterly West 58 (2004): 68-79.

Viera, Joseph M. “Suárez, Virgil.” Encyclopedia of American Literature. Ed. Steven R. Serafin. New York: Continuum, 1999. 1111-12.

“Virgil Suárez.” Contemporary Authors Online. Detroit: Gale, 2004. Contemporary Authors. Web. 13 June 2006.

Torres, Omar

Burunat, Silvia. “Torres, Omar.” Biographical Dictionary of Hispanic Literature in the United States: The Literature of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Other Hispanic Writers. New York: Greenwood, 1989. 322-28.

Figueredo, D.H. “Torres, Omar.” Encyclopedia of Caribbean Literature. Vol. 2. Westport: Greenwood, 2006. 779-80.

Lagaron, Beth. “Torres, Omar.” The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Multiethnic American Literature. Vol. 5. Westport: Greenwood, 2005. 2165-66.

“Torres, Omar.” Escritores de la Diáspora Cubana: Manual Biobibliográfica / Cuban Exile Writers: A Biobibliographic Handbook. Eds. Daniel C. Maratos and Marnesba D. Hill. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow, 1986. 338-39.

“Torres, Omar.” The Hispanic American Almanac: A Reference Work on Hispanics in the United States. Ed. Nicolás Kanellos. Detroit: Gale, 1997. 582-83.

Viera, Joseph M

Viera, Joseph M. “Exile among Exiles.” Poets & Writers 26.5 (1998): 40-45.

Yglesias, Jose

Ingalls, Robert P. “Remembering Ybor City: The Life and Work of Jose Yglesias.” Tampa Bay History 18.1 (1996): 5-28.

Mazurkiewicz, Margaret. "Jose Yglesias." Contemporary Authors Online. Detroit: Gale, 2003. Contemporary Authors. Web. 10 Apr. 2012.

Yglesias, Jose. The Goodbye Land. New York: Pantheon, 1967.

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer