Research Guides: Computer Science: Manage Sources

Citation Managers

Citation managers are software programs designed to help users collect, organize, format, and share references.

Consult the library guides below for help with these programs.

Consult the company guides below for help with these programs.

Citation Styles

Citation styles are manuals designed to help users cite references.

IEEE Style

APA Style

Print version available for in-library use at HUB Desk.

EndNote

Download Software from UAB Academic Software Center

EndNote is available for free to UAB students through a site license. The newest version is EndNote X9 which was released in August 2018.

EndNote may require a new library be created the first time the program is opened.

Follow the steps below to create a new library:

Go to the file menu and select new.

Save the library on the hard drive of the computer.

Confirm creation of the library.

General Safety Notes from Clarivate Analytics

EndNote libraries are made up of two parts: the .enl file and the .data folder. These two parts must be kept together as both are needed for the library to work correctly.
EndNote libraries should be kept on your computer's hard drive. Storing and editing libraries on a portable (usb / flash / thumb) or network drive can lead to corruption and performance issues.
EndNote libraries should never be stored in cloud-syncing folders such as Dropbox, OneDrive, Box, SugarSync, etc. Syncing folders corrupt EndNote libraries over time. (see safety note for MacOS versions 10.12 [Sierra], 10.13 [High Sierra], and 10.14 [Mojave])

Several methods are available for adding references to the EndNote library.

Direct Export

This method may be used to add references by exporting a file directly to EndNote from within the resource.

Follow the instructions on the find sources page then open the file using the web browser.

Import File

This method may be used to add references by importing a saved file using a matching filter in EndNote.

It may be used as a work around when it is not possible to add references from resources using direct export.

It may also be used to import PDF files to create a new reference from the metadata with the full text attached.

Manual Entry

This method may be used to add references such as web pages by creating a new reference and manually entering the information.

Follow the instructions below to customize EndNote to find full text available through the UAB Libraries:

Display the edit menu [Windows] or the EndNote menu [Mac] and select preferences (#1).

On the left side of the EndNote preferences box, click on Find Full Text (#2).

Make sure all four of the boxes are checked (#3).

In the OpenURL Path field insert (#4):

https://uab-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/01UALB/UAB_Libraries?

This setting allows access to full text available through the UAB Libraries for all users.

In the Authenticate with (URL) field insert (#4):

https://uab.idm.oclc.org/login?url=

This setting allows access to full text available through the UAB Libraries for off-campus users.

Click on the OK button (#5).

Follow the instructions below to find full text for references in the EndNote library:

Select the references to search for full text (#1).

Click on the find full text button in the toolbar (#2).

If an authenticate with URL was added to the preferences, enter BlazerID and password and click on the login button.

Click on the continue button below the database menu.

Check the status of the full text search in the groups pane (#3).

Find the results in the find full text groups (#4). If a match was found then a PDF file is attached to the reference.

References may be organized using groups and groups may be organized using group sets.

Group sets are heading above custom, smart, and combination groups (#1).

Custom groups contain references added by dragging them and are manually updated (#2).

Smart groups add references based on search criteria and are automatically updated (#3).

Combination groups combine references from other groups and are automatically updated (#4).

Follow the steps below to create groups and group sets:

Display the groups menu and select create.

Follow the instructions below to generate a bibliography:

Select the output style in the menu (#1) then the references (#2).

Display the edit menu and select copy formatted (#3).

Paste the formatted references into the application (#4).

Follow the instructions below to cite sources using Microsoft Word:

Click on the arrow in the style menu and select another style using the EndNote toolbar in Word (#1).

Select the citation style in the styles box (#2) and click on the OK button (#3).

Place the cursor in the location where the in-text citation should appear in the document (#4).

Click on the top half of the insert citation button (#5).

Enter terms to match the reference in the search box and click on the find button (#6).

Select the reference (#7) and click on the insert button (#8).

Check the citation and reference for any errors that need to be edited.

NOTE: If there are errors in the reference, find the matching record in the EndNote library and fix the data in the fields then click on the update citations and bibliography button in the Word document.

Collect References - Open File from Direct Export with Web Browser

Locate the downloaded RIS file in the lower left hand corner then click on the filename.

TIP: Click on the arrow then select always open files of this type to automatically open RIS files after downloading.

Locate the downloaded RIS file at the bottom then click on the open button.

Select open with and click on the arrow to display the programs.

Find the EndNote program then click on the OK or open button.

Confirm open with EndNote is selected then click on the OK button.

TIP: Check the box next to do this automatically for files like this from now on to automatically open RIS files with EndNote.

TIP: Locate the downloaded RIS file in the upper right hand corner then click on the filename if not getting a pop-up box.

Locate the downloaded RIS file in the upper right hand corner then double click on the filename.

Locate the downloaded RIS file in the downloads folder then drag and drop it onto EndNote in the dock.

Locate the downloaded RIS file in the upper right hand corner then click on the filename.

TIP: Try a different web browser such as Chrome, Firefox, or Opera if having problems opening the RIS file with Safari.