Research Guides: Cultural Competencies in Health Care: Databases at UAB Libraries

Databases

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Covers anthropology: social, cultural, physical, biological, linguistic. Includes ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University (USA) and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute (UK).
ATLA Religion with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
Covers Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. Includes full text of selected journals. Compiled by the American Theological Library Association. Content from 1949 - present.
CINAHL Plus This link opens in a new window
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Covers journals, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials. Content from 1937 - present.

See related Research Guide: CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature
OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
Find timely and historically relevant content on issues that influence women’s lives across the globe.
E-HRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
A current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
Academic OneFile Select This link opens in a new window
Covers everything from art and literature to economics and the science. Provides indexing for more than 5,000 periodicals, more than 2,800 in full text. Content from 1980 - present.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Publications covering women studies, men's studies, evolution of the women's movement, transgendered community, (changes in) gender roles, femininity, gender differences, gender equity, gender identity, and gender studies. Content from 1970 - present.
Oral History Collection This link opens in a new window
Recorded interviews focusing on Alabama life, history and culture; includes civil rights and women's suffrage workers, textile mill and industrial laborers, and many other persons sharing their stories.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. Archive covers mid-twentieth century. Content from 1972 - present.
PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Documentary films and series covering history, science, health, technology, performing arts, psychology, education, anthropology, politics and literature.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text of current and archival articles from 600+ scholarly journals from major
university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
Updated continually. 1990 - present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

See related Research Guides: PubMed via LHL and Making the Most of My NCBI
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of interdisciplinary fields; includes a broad array of social sciences journals. Content from 1983 - present.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Content from 1952 - present.

Search Terms in CINAHL or PubMed

Use the PubMed & CINAHL search below to begin searching for articles. Consider using MeSH terms in PubMed and CINAHL headings for CINAHL to retrieve better results.

We suggest using search terms like:

cross-cultural
cultural competency
cultural awareness
diversity
transcultural

To insure more relevant results, add health related terms like:

health care
nursing
medicine
patient communication
global health
public health

Cultural Competencies in Health Care: Databases at UAB Libraries

Databases

Search Terms in CINAHL or PubMed

Search CINAHL

Search PubMed