Research Guides: EDU 100: Touch the Future: Key Sources

Databases for Finding Articles

SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Sports medicine, exercise physiology, physical education and fitness, recreation, history and psychology of sports.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Access to the core collection - which consists of Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, all from 1990 – present.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Covers peer-reviewed international biomedical literature. Content from 1947 - present.

See related Research Guide: Embase at UAB Libraries
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

See related Research Guides: PubMed via LHL and Making the Most of My NCBI
Ovid This link opens in a new window
Includes Ovid collection of e-books & e-journals, MEDLINE Complete, Emcare, Visible Body, ACC CardioSource Plus, and JBI ESP Database.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Many health topics: medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and more. Content from 1975 - present.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Many medical disciplines, with an emphasis on nursing and allied health. Content from 1975 - present.
Academic Video Online: Health Sciences This link opens in a new window
Presents videos from practitioners, teachers, and researchers in a wide array of medical fields—including dentistry, nursing, rehabilitation therapy, sports medicine and exercise science, and veterinary science.
AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window
Integrates leading physical therapy textbooks, procedure and exercise videos, image galleries, self-assessment tools.

Individual login required for Review Questions.
Sports Nutrition Care Manual (SNCM) This link opens in a new window
Sports nutrition & professional practice manual from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (A.N.D.).

2 simultaneous users.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scientific, technical, and medical literature in journals published by Elsevier Science. Content from 1995 - present.

Journal of Sport and Human Performance
An open-access journal that publishes research in the broad field of human performance, including topics from kinesiology, biomechanics, sports medicine, athletic training, sports psychology, and strength & conditioning

OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
Periodicals and reports covering education from preschool to college; includes technology, bilingual education, health education, testing, administration, funding, policy. Replaces Professional Collection. Content from 1980 - 2013.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Documents and journal literature on education; sponsored by the US Department of Education.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Over seventy journal titles published by the APA, APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. 1894-present.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Publications covering education; includes periodicals, yearbooks, books.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Journals and reports for professional educators.
Childcare & Early Education Research Connections This link opens in a new window
For policy-making and research covering early childhood education; includes reports, papers, fact sheets, briefs, executive summaries, datasets, instruments and measures.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
General and specialized publications including newspapers; refereed academic journals, and the New York Times since 1995. Content from 1980 - present.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Publications covering a wide variety of academic disciplines. Includes peer-reviewed journals. Content from 1940 - present.
Disability in the Modern World This link opens in a new window
Collection of resources, including primary sources, that support disciplines of disability history and disability studies, but also in history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other areas where the contributions of the disability community are typically overlooked.
Gale E-Books This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias covering a wide variety of specialties, such as small business, endangered species, popular culture, controlled substances, alternative medicines, and multicultural America.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Back issues of periodicals in economics, math and science, the humanities, and social sciences.
MAS Ultra - School Edition This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive general reference; covers hundreds of general interest and current events magazines.

PLoS ONE
Public Library of Science includes research from over 200 subject areas across science, engineering, medicine, and the related social sciences and humanities

Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Essays presenting various sides of current controversial issues. Includes critical thinking guides.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text of current and archival articles from 600+ scholarly journals from major
university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
Updated continually. 1990 - present.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Journals in the following subjects: Health Sciences, Social Sciences & Humanities, Materials Sciences & Engineering, and Life & Biomedical Sciences.
Springer Link E-Books and Journals This link opens in a new window
Scientific, technical, and medical literature in journals and books published by Springer. Includes the Lecture Notes in Computer Science book series from 1997 to 2008.

Resource contains both subscribed and preview-only content
Taylor & Francis E-Books This link opens in a new window
Collection of e-books in science, technology, engineering, medical, humanities and social science.

Browse or search for accessible e-books by filtering results to “Content I have access to."
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Search and explore the millions of quality, peer-reviewed journal articles published under the Taylor & Francis and Routledge imprints.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Scientific, technical, medical, and professional journals; major reference works and laboratory manuals from Current Protocol; selected e-books.

UAB Libraries has a Read-and-Publish agreement for APCs with Wiley. To learn more, visit the Open Access LibGuide.

Suggested Web Resources

Kinesiology Web Sources
Education & Child Development Web Sources

National Athletic Trainers Association
The National Athletic Trainers’ Association (NATA) is the professional membership association for certified athletic trainers and others who support the athletic training profession. Founded in 1950, NATA has grown to more than 45,000 members worldwide today. The majority of certified athletic trainers choose to be members of NATA to support their profession and to receive a broad array of membership benefits. By joining forces as a group, NATA members can accomplish more for the athletic training profession than they can individually.
North American Society for Pediatric Exercise Medicine
NASPEM’s mission is to promote exercise science, physical activity, and fitness in the health and medical care of children and adolescents.
North American Society for the Psychology of Sport and Physical Activity
Organization whose purpose is to develop and advance the study of Motor Behavior (development, learning, and control) and Sport and Exercise Psychology.

U.S. Department of Education Policy
Greatest value to this may be that from it you can link to individual states. Education in the US is mostly local.
National Association of State Boards of Education (NASBE)
Mission is to strengthen State Boards as an educational policymaking body for students and citizens. Has publications, study groups, tutorials, etc.
Society for Research in Child Development (SRCD)
Holds biennial meeting, publishes, has policy briefs, international in scope, has over 5,000 members, located in Ann Arbor, MI. UCI researchers present at this conference.
Society for Research on Adolescents (SRA)
Biennial conference; publishes Journal of Research on Adolescence, and newsletter. Covers theoretical, empirical, and policy research issues of adolescence, including issues of diversity. Links to blog posts written (though not endorsed) by members. UCI researchers present at this conference. International/global scope.