Research Guides: EH 301: Reading, Writing, and Research for English: Journal Articles

Find Literary Criticism in Articles

Search these databases to identify articles (published in journals and edited collections) about an author or work.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of books and articles on modern languages and literature, linguistics, folklore, film, and other related topics. Content from 1926 - present.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage dates vary, but some titles go back to the 19th century. Most titles have a "moving wall" of coverage in which the last 3-5 years are not available.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
citations and abstracts to articles in English-language humanities journals. Useful for researching the relationship of literature to other topics such as music, painting, and philosophy.
Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Digitized and searchable full text of the following Gale criticism series: Contemporary Literary Criticism (volumes 238 to present), Drama Criticism (volumes 28 to present), Poetry Criticism (volumes 78 to present), and Short Story Criticism (volumes 100 to present).
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text of current and archival articles from 600+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.

If you don't see the full text of an article in the database you are searching, use these steps to find a copy of the article:

1. Choose to check for full text in other library databases.

2. Search the Catalog to identify the call number and location (usually second floor) of the journal.

3. Request a copy of the article through Interlibrary Loan.