Research Guides: KIN 485/585: Advanced Exercise Testing and Prescription: Finding Information

Databases Provided by UAB Libraries

Academic Video Online: Health Sciences This link opens in a new window
Presents videos from practitioners, teachers, and researchers in a wide array of medical fields—including dentistry, nursing, rehabilitation therapy, sports medicine and exercise science, and veterinary science.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Sports medicine, exercise physiology, physical education and fitness, recreation, history and psychology of sports.
Sports Nutrition Care Manual (SNCM) This link opens in a new window
Sports nutrition & professional practice manual from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (A.N.D.).

2 simultaneous users.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, publications in biomedical research.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. See related Research Guide: PubMed via LHL
OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Full text nursing & allied health journals, news articles, consumer health information sources, & multimedia.
AccessCardiology This link opens in a new window
Includes cardiology books, quick reference resources, drug monographs, videos, cases, review questions, a custom curriculum tool and patient education handouts.

Individual login required for Review Questions.

AHFS Drug Information This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based foundations for safe and effective drug therapy.
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
Health topics and news, drug information, medical encyclopedia, and directories. Helpful for laypersons. A service of the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
Facts & Comparisons eAnswers This link opens in a new window
Primary source for drug information & interactions, herbal information, & patient medication handouts. Includes Drug Comparisons.
Drug Comparisons This link opens in a new window
Tool for generating the comparison of up to four drugs. Part of Facts & Comparisons.
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive, up-to-date drug information in nursing-focused monographs. It also includes extensive supplemental material in 14 appendices, thoroughly addresses the issue of safe medication administration, and educates the reader about 50 different therapeutic classes of drugs.

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Contains narrated videos of real cadaver specimens.
Anatomy.tv This link opens in a new window
Medically accurate and detailed 3D graphic renderings of human anatomy with benchmark anatomy, physiology, and clinical content.
Complete Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Human anatomy 3-D platform provides access to over 17,000 structures, bone mapping, muscle movement, and more.

Account setup and download information.
e-Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Interactive human anatomy atlas. Designed for use by doctors, radiologists, students, & medical imaging specialists.