Skip to main content

MPA 606: Foundations of PA Research: Finding Articles

Relevant Databases

Find Research Articles by Citation

  • Click on the title in the search results to see the options for full-text

  • Click on the option, or one of the options, listed

  • Click on the PDF option, if one is given. Otherwise, open the link for HTML

  • Plug journal title into box then click on search button

  • Click on title to view record of matching result

  • Click on links under View It to open for full text options

  • Browse issues or search within publication to find article

OR

  • Click on PDF icon to view full-text of article (this might look different depending on which database you've accessed it from)

OR

Searching Tips

You can use the following search tips in the databases to help narrow or broaden your search results.

Tips for Database Searching:

Boolean searching: using the terms andor and not to enhance your searching possibilities.

AND: used to combine two keywords or phrases to narrow your search.

Example: “poverty” AND “academic achievement”

OR: used to broaden your search by allowing you to search for two or more similar words.

Example: “socioeconomic status*” OR “social status”

NOT: used to narrow your search by eliminating a word or words from your search results.

Example: “urban housing” NOT “housing projects”

Phrase searching: placing a term in quotation marks to let the computer know to search for specific terms as one phrase rather than separate words 

Example: “socioeconomic status”

The asterisk (*) can be used to search for several endings of a word at the same time

Example: “urban develop*” will search for the terms “development,” “developing,” etc.

Publishing Cycle

Can't Find It?

Interlibrary Loan is a service that enables you to borrow materials not available at the UAB Libraries from other libraries throughout the world. Through this service, UAB Libraries provides access to materials to support faculty, staff, and students in their study and research. Materials ordered through the Interlibrary Loan service should be for scholarly purposes.

You can start by logging in with your Blazerid and password here, https://uab.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/logon.html

For more information on Interlibrary loan, see https://library.uab.edu/services/interlibrary-loan

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer