Research Guides: Newswriting and Reporting: Newspapers/Magazines/Transcripts

Locate Full Text of Journal Articles

If you don't see the full text of an article in the database you are searching, use these steps to find a copy of the article:

1. Choose to check for full text in other library databases.

2. Search the Catalog to identify the call number and location (usually second floor) of the journal.

3. Request a copy of the article through Interlibrary Loan.

Database Search Tips

Use these tips when you search databases to find articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals.

Combine terms with AND, OR, NOT: charities AND fraud
Use truncation to find multiple forms of a word: journalis* [finds journalism, journalist, journalists]
Use quotation marks for phrases: "investigative reporting"
Look for Help or Search Tips in databases

Additional News Databases

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search and browse American newspapers published across three centuries.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window A current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
Hispanic Life in America, 1845 - Present This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the Hispanic American experience as depicted by news media.
Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historical newspapers, including New York Times; Historical Chicago Tribune; Guardian & Observer, 1821-2003; Communist Historical Newspapers; and Black Historical Newspapers.

Limit source type to Historical Newspapers before performing a search.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Consolidates current and archived information from thousands of newspaper titles, as well as newswires, web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international newspapers. Content from 1988 - present.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
A daily newspaper published in New York City.

Individual login required using UAB email.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window Abstracts of ABC, NBC, and CBS evening news broadcasts (August 1968-present); daily news programs from CNN (1995-present), FOX News (2004-present), and ABC Nightline (12 September 1988-present); and special event broadcasts. Streaming video of NBC nightly news broadcasts (August 1968-present) and CNN broadcasts (1995-present).