Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

STEM Collection (Standard Texts): About the STEM Collection

STEM Collection is a new closed collection at Sterne Library created to house standard texts that have a higher risk of disappearing if placed in the main collection.

         

These books have normal loan periods like items in the main collection but need to be retrieved from the closed collection by staff members at the HUB Desk and checked out for use.

  • Undergraduate students – 28 days  (1 renewal)
  • Graduate students – 63 days  (1 renewal)
  • Faculty – 183 days  (1 renewal)
  • Staff – 28 days  (1 renewal)
  • Other – 14 days  (1 renewal)

These books may be placed on course reserve to shorten the loan period for in building use and may not be borrowed through interlibrary loan to prevent the use as textbooks by students at other universities.

 

Browse standard texts in the STEM Collection.

Click on the book cover or title to check availability.

Scan QR code using smartphone or write down call number and location for staff retrieval at Sterne Library HUB Desk (Ask @ Circulation).

Hold may be placed on any circulating item that is available or checked out by clicking on the request button after signing into library account.

Purchase suggestions may be submitted to Jennifer Long, STEM Librarian, via email (jmlong@uab.edu) or online form.

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer