Research Guides: EH 693: American Literary Realism: Finding Articles

Article Search

Databases contain information about articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Below are some databases that concentrate on literature and the humanities. When searching them and combining terms, you should use the word AND.

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographies, bibliographies and critical analyses of writers from every age and literary discipline; designed for undergraduate and high school students.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Publications covering the humanities. Includes scholarly journals and specialized magazines. Content from 1980 - present.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of books and articles on modern languages and literature, linguistics, folklore, film, and other related topics. Content from 1926 - present.

Author & Subject Journals

These journals specifically cover your period or authors. The links lead to the journal record; to search the journal, select one of the full text availability options.

American Literary Realism

American Literary Realism, 1870-1910

Edith Wharton Newsletter

Primary Sources

These databases have news articles, books, documents, photographs, and more published in the 19th century.

Eight Centuries This link opens in a new window
A vast scholarly database for finding published material, with the scope of the bulk of searchable material extending from the 12th century through 1960.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Books, monographs, newspapers, photographs and more, published during the nineteenth century. Includes Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; and European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection.
Making of America This link opens in a new window
Primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction; includes books, journals, and volumes focusing on New York City.

Database Searching Tips

Use AND, OR, NOT to combine terms

poland and music

Use truncation to find multiple word endings

map* [finds map, maps, mapping]

Use quotation marks to search for phrases

"national monument"

Locating Full Text

If you don't see the full text of an article in the database you are searching, use these steps to find a copy of the article:

1. Choose to check for full text in other library databases.

2. Search the Catalog to identify the call number and location (usually second floor) of the journal.

3. Request a copy of the article through Interlibrary Loan.