Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health Services Administration: Business Source Premier

Research resources and search tips for UAB Department of Health Services Administration

Search Business Source Premier

BSP Logo
 

Tips for Searching EBSCOhost Databases

Click Help (top right) while working in Business Source Premier for help with searching and working with results.

    Tips:

    • Use "Limit your results" (left dashboard ) to choose peer-reviewed articles and date ranges
    • Narrow your search results using choices on the left side bar
    • Combine concepts with AND, OR, and NOT
    • Use truncation * to find all forms of a root word 
    • Quotations marks generally search for exact phrase
    • Find subjects in the Thesaurus at the top of the screen
    • Use the folder to collect useful citations- then export them to EndNote or save them.
    • Consider creating a personal account; that way all items in your folder will be saved, and you can create alerts to your searches.
    • Look under Page Options at the top of a results list to change number of results per page.

    Ask a librarian if you need help!

        Managing your Results

        This detailed instruction manual for working with EBSCO database result sets includes printing, saving, emailing and exporting results to EndNote.

        Chat with a Librarian

         

        Contact us:
        Lister Hill Library
        2nd Floor
        205-934-2231

        Sterne Library
        HUB Desk
        205-934-6364

        Finding Articles on a Topic

        This 9.5-minute video will demonstrate how to search the business literature for scholarly journal articles on your topic. It includes using the database's Subject list to expand your result set, and using Search History to combine concepts. Use the Full Text@UAB Libraries button to check for full text for those citations that do not have PDF Full Text links. On the right side of the main search page, you can use the direct links to access company and industry profiles and country and market reports. (Note: The layout of the search options/limits has changed slightly since this tutorial was recorded, but the basic search process is the same.)

        Using the YouTube Controls

        You can work along with the videos by running a search in another browser tab or window, and using the start/pause button to follow along step-by-step.

        Finding Company Information Using Business Source Premier

        This 4.5-minute tutorial demonstrates how to find company profiles, SWOT analyses and journal articles about specific companies.

        © UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer