Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Who Are We?
Birmingham has many elements from which to draw inspiration for research and teaching.
UAB Digital Collections
Specific UAB-Related Collections
- Alabama Museum of the Health Sciences Exhibits
- Birmingham Medical College Collection
- William C. Carter Collection
- Dennis G. Pappas Otolaryngology Collection
- Instruments, Equipment, and Devices
- Pellagra in Alabama
- Rare Alabama Medical Journals
- Lawrence Reynolds WWI Photographs
- Mervyn Hayden Sterne Collection
- Transactions of the Southern Surgical Association
It's All in the Details
Black Workers' Struggle for Equality in Birmingham by
Publication Date: 2004-11-23
This volume is the first set of annotated oral interviews from the front lines of the Civil Rights Movement to be undertaken by the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute. Interviewees recount their struggles against discrimination both in and outside of the workplace, showing how collective action, whether through unions, the Movement, or networks of workplace activists, sought to gain access to better jobs, municipal services, housing, and less restrictive voter registration. This is a powerful work that reconsiders the links of the labor movement to the struggle for civil rights.
But for Birmingham by
Publication Date: 1997-12-15
Birmingham served as the stage for some of the most dramatic and important moments in the history of the civil rights struggle. In this vivid narrative account, Glenn Eskew traces the evolution of nonviolent protest in the city, focusing particularly on the sometimes problematic intersection of the local and national movements. Eskew describes the changing face of Birmingham's civil rights campaign, from the politics of accommodation practiced by the city's black bourgeoisie in the 1950s to local pastor Fred L. Shuttlesworth's groundbreaking use of nonviolent direct action to challenge segregation during the late 1950s and early 1960s. In 1963, the national movement, in the person of Martin Luther King Jr., turned to Birmingham. The national uproar that followed on Police Commissioner Bull Connor's use of dogs and fire hoses against the demonstrators provided the impetus behind passage of the watershed Civil Rights Act of 1964. Paradoxically, though, the larger victory won in the streets of Birmingham did little for many of the city's black citizens, argues Eskew. The cancellation of protest marches before any clear-cut gains had been made left Shuttlesworth feeling betrayed even as King claimed a personal victory. While African Americans were admitted to the leadership of the city, the way power was exercised--and for whom--remained fundamentally unchanged.
Creating a Place for Ourselves by
Publication Date: 1997-04-07
Creating a Place For Ourselvesis a groundbreaking collection of essays that examines gay life in the United States before Stonewall and the gay liberation movement. Along with examining areas with large gay communities such as New York, San Francisco and Fire Island, the contributors also consider the thriving gay populations in cities like Detroit, Buffalo, Washington, D.C., Birmingham and Flint, demonstrating that gay communities are truly everywhere. Contributors: Brett Beemyn, Nan Alamilla Boyd, George Chauncey, Madeline Davis, Allen Drexel, John Howard, David Johnson, Liz Kennedy, Joan Nestle, Esther Newton, Tim Retzloff, Marc Stein, Roey Thorpe.
Fifty Years of Dreams and Discoveries by
Publication Date: 1989-10-01
Since its birth as an autonomous university in 1969, the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) has changed the lives of people throughout the state, across the nation, and around the world. Drawing from the treasures of the UAB Archives, this book-Fifty Years of Dreams and Discoveries-is a 200-page pictorial journey through UAB's history. It begins before 1969, chronicling the rise of the academic medical center and university extension center, and travels through the decades to today's UAB, recognized by Times Higher Education as the #1 young university in the United States for the second consecutive year. Enjoy UAB's evolution-the research breakthroughs, the changing campus, memorable people, fun fashions, artifacts from the UAB Archives, and more. The book also features an introduction by President Ray L. Watts, M.D., and a foreword by community leader Odessa Woolfolk reflecting upon UAB's connection with Birmingham.
New Lights in the Valley by
Publication Date: 2007-08-16
A scholarly narrative of UAB from its nascent beginnings through the mid 1990s. While the economy and culture of the post--World War II South changed from an era of material capital (e.g., cotton and iron ore) to a period of social capital (intellectual development and networked approaches to social change), one of the most important components of urban life, the university, emerged as both a creator and a reflector of such modernization. This is the case with Birmingham and its youthful institution of higher learning, the University of Alabama at Birmingham. From its early days as a struggling offshoot of the capstone campus in Tuscaloosa, UAB's journey to its current status as a major university has been a bumpy but interesting one. Tennant McWilliams, a longtime UAB history professor, explores the whole range of historical considerations, including UAB's similarities and connections to trans-Atlantic civic universities; the irony of the shift from Big Steel to Big Medicine in Birmingham; the visionary administrations of Joseph F. Volker and others; and the evolving decision to make non-medical life at UAB less of a commuter experience and more of a traditional campus experience. McWilliams does not palliate the missteps and disputes that have, from time to time, impeded the institution's progress. But he explains why, despite various hurdles and distractions, UAB has risen to be Alabama's largest employer and can rightly boast that its complex of health care services, especially organ transplantation and neuroscience, as well as such fields as philosophy and psychology, are among the best in the nation.
Social Sciences Librarian
Subjects: African American Studies
, Communication Studies
, Honors College
, Justice Sciences
, Political Studies
, Public Administration
, Social Work
, Women's Studies