Biostatistics and Computer-Based Analysis of Health Data Using SAS by 
Biostatistics and Computer-Based Analysis of Health Data Using the R Software by 
Applied Biostatistics for the Health Sciences by 
Statistics for Nursing: a Practical Approach by 
Introductory Statistics for Health and Nursing Using SPSS by 
The Essentials of Biostatistics for Physicians, Nurses, and Clinicians by 
How to Report Statistics in Medicine by 
Fundamental Statistical Principles for the Neurobiologists by
Fundamental Statistical Principles for Neurobiologists introduces readers to basic experimental design and statistical thinking in a comprehensive, relevant manner. This book is an introductory statistics book that covers fundamental principles written by a neuroscientist who understands the plight of the neuroscience graduate student and the senior investigator. It summarizes the fundamental concepts associated with statistical analysis that are useful for the neuroscientist, and provides understanding of a particular test in language that is more understandable to this specific audience, with the overall purpose of explaining which statistical technique should be used in which situation. Different types of data are discussed such as how to formulate a research hypothesis, the primary types of statistical errors and statistical power, followed by how to actually graph data and what kinds of mistakes to avoid. Chapters discuss variance, standard deviation, standard error, mean, confidence intervals, correlation, regression, parametric vs. nonparametric statistical tests, ANOVA, and post hoc analyses. Finally, there is a discussion on how to deal with data points that appear to be "outliers" and what to do when there is missing data, an issue that has not sufficiently been covered in literature. An introductory guide to statistics aimed specifically at the neuroscience audience Contains numerous examples with actual data that is used in the analysis Gives the investigators a starting pointing for evaluating data in easy-to-understand language Explains in detail many different statistical tests commonly used by neuroscientists
County and City Extra 2013 by
When you want only one source of information about your city or county, turn to County and City ExtraThis trusted reference compiles information from many sources to provide all the key demographic and economic data for every state, county, metropolitan area, congressional district, and for all cities in the United States with a 2000 population of 25,000 or more. In one volume you can conveniently find data from 1990 to 2012 in easy-to-read tables. No other resource compiles this amount of detailed information into one place.Subjects covered in County and City Extra include: population by age and race government finances income and poverty manufacturing, trade, and services crime housing education immigration and migration labor force and employment agriculture, land, and water residential construction health resources voting and electionsThe main body of this volume contains five basic parts and covers the following areas: Part A-statesPart B-countiesPart C-metropolitan areasPart D-cities with a 2010 census population of 25,000 or morePart E-congressional districtsIn addition, this publication includes: figures and text in each section that highlight pertinent data and provide analysis ranking tables which present each geography type by various subjects including population, land area, population density, educational attainment, housing values, race, unemployment, and crime multiple color maps of the United States on various topics including median household income, poverty, voting, and raceFurthermore, this volume contains several appendixes which include: notes and explanations for further reference definitions of geographic concepts a listing of metropolitan and micropolitan areas and their component counties as of December 2009, with 2010 census populations a list of cities by county maps showing congressional districts, counties, and selected places within each stateNew in the 21st edition: In February 2013, the Office of Management and Budget released a completely new list of Core Based Statistical Areas (metropolitan and micropolitan areas) based on the 2010 census and some changes in the way these areas are defined. These newly delineated areas are presented in a new Appendix C, together with their component counties and their 2010 census and 2012 estimated populations.Table E (Congressional Districts) includes a wide selection of American Community Survey data for the newly established congressional districts of the 113th Congress, along with the 113th Congressional representatives. Some interesting facts found in the 2013 edition of County and City Extra include: Vermont had the fewest births between 2010 and 2012. West Virginia was the only state to have more deaths than births, but a net migration of more than 5,665 people prevented the state from having a population lossIn ten states, more than 70 percent of the residents were born in that state. Louisiana ranked highest with 78.0 percent.There were 41 counties with a population of 1,000,000 or more in 2012. At the other extreme, there were 35 counties with fewer than 1,000 people.Over 1,200 counties had unemployment rates above the national average of 8.1 percent in 2012.In 2012, 83.9 percent of Americans lived in metropolitan areas, but these areas only made up 26 percent of the nation s land area.Among all cities of 25,000 or more, 262 had unemployment rates of 10 percent or more significantly lower than two years earlier when 555 had unemployment rates of 10 percent or more. Rhode island s 1st district of the smallest congressional district with a population of slightly more than 524,000. In California 33rd district, 95.9 percent of residents were high school graduates, compared with just 50.9 percent in California s 21st district."
Statistics aren't always produced quickly. It takes time to collect and analyze data and have it published. Various local, national and international agencies provide this very valuable information.
Finding statistics requires a systematic approach. A clear series of steps can provide an excellent paradigm to guide you through this process. It involves knowing the right question to ask, turning that question into a good search, knowing the best place to look and finding what is available.
Use the following 7 steps taken from NIH/National Library of Medicine to form a question.
Step 1 - Define the Goals
Step 2 - Search Publications
Step 3 - Use the Internet
Step 4 - Go to Original Sources
Step 5 - Assess Resources
Step 6 - Re-define Requirements
Step 7 - Renew the search
A detailed guide to each step is outlined in this tutorial from the National Library of Medicine
Available at the Mervyn H. Sterne Library
The Chicago Guide to Writing about Numbers by 
The Chicago Guide to Writing about Multivariate Analysis by UAB has purchased an IBM SPSS Campus Wide license that will provide UAB users free access to analytics.
Contact us:
Lister Hill Library
2nd Floor
205-934-2231
Sterne Library
HUB Desk
205-934-6364
Biostatistics, Epidemiology and Research Design (BERD)
Drop-in Clinics
Open to all faculty members, post-docs, fellows, residents, and students. Bring statistical and methodological questions about on-going projects being planned, manuscripts in progress, responses to peer reviewers, and published articles - as well as laptops.
The first 30 minutes of the video is about choosing the right statistical test and then explains how to present statistics in APA style.
