Skip to main content

Higher Education Administration: Ebooks Higher Ed History

The Art and Politics of Academic Governance

Using case studies and relevant literature, this book illustrates the challenges to legitimate, Shared-governance domains when the routine of the academy is forced to deal with big issues, often brought on by external forces. Mortimer and Sathre have gone beyond a discussion of faculty/administrative behavior by focusing on what happens when the legitimate governance claims of faculty, trustees, and presidents clash. They place these relationships in the broader context of internal institutional governance and analyze the dynamics that unfold when advocacy trumps collegiality. The book closes with a defense of shared governance and offers observations and practical suggestions about how the academy can share authority effectively and further achieve its mission.

Higher Education Assessments

Higher Education Assessments: Leadership Matters reflects the work of a select group of researchers, scholars, and practitioners in higher education assessment with the goal of identifying strategies that assist senior campus leaders as they respond to the challenges of a changing economic landscape and political climate. The contributors, experts in the field, bring to the forefront key issues relevant to advancing assessments in higher education-principles that culminate in improving student learning and development. Kramer and Swing provide a tool for presidents, vice presidents, provosts, and deans to determine which areas of assessment matter most in their institutions and how they can measure progress in aligning claims with outcomes. The contributors deftly address assessment in student affairs, documentation of student learning, student engagement to bridge learner outcomes, assessment in the disciplines, assessments that can transform a culture, and putting students first as partners in the learning enterprise. In doing so, they have focused on what a campus president and his or her team need to know and do to lead assessment successfully on campus and as they set the tone for and facilitate institutional assessments.

Encyclopedia of Law and Higher Education

In light of the significance that education law occupies in the professional lives of educators, it is only natural that it plays a major role in educational leadership programs devoted to preparing leaders for both the world of higher education and K-12 schools. The centrality of education law is reflected in a study conducted on behalf of the University Council for Educational Administration revealing that education law is the second-most commonly taught subject in educational leadership programs. Further, with many universities offering a variety of courses on education law at all levels, it continues to occupy a crucial element in the curricula for educators. Despite its importance, there is a surprising dearth of readily accessible reference materials for academicians and practitioners. Thus, the Encyclopedia of Law and Higher Education fills a gap that will be of use to those in the world of higher education, whether students, faculty members, administrators, or attorneys.

Sacred and Secular Tensions in Higher Education

Both sacred and secular worldviews have long held a place in U.S. higher education, although non-religious perspectives have been privileged in most institutions in the modern era. Sacred and Secular Tensions in Higher Education illustrates the importance of cultivating multiple worldviews at public, private, and faith-based colleges and universities in the interest of academic freedom, and intellectual and moral dialogue. Contributors to this edited collection argue that sacred perspectives are as integral to contemporary higher education in the United States as the more dominant secular perspectives. The debates and issues addressed in this book attempt to rebalance the dialogue and place an emphasis on pluralism, rather than declare victory of one paradigm over the other. Student affairs administrators, higher education and religious studies faculty, and campus ministers and chaplains will benefit from better understanding the interplay of these sometimes competing and sometimes complementary ideas on campus, and the impact of the debate on the lives of faculty, students, and staff.

Business Practices in Higher Education

Business Practices in Higher Education is a breakthrough guide offering higher education and student affairs professionals an understanding of the fundamental business nature of colleges and universities. The author discusses the practical applications of business concepts and models and how these applications can contribute to the overall efficiency and effectiveness of higher education institutions. Useful examples from a wide range of institutions--including small privates, large publics, and community colleges--illustrate these concepts. This professional guide is organized into the following four sections: Environment and Structure Finance and Funding People and Processes Perspectives on the Future Business practices pervade the academic, student affairs, and administrative sides of higher education. This book affords readers a greater understanding of the true nature of higher education and an appreciation for how the academy effectively incorporates business practices into everyday work lives.

Abelard to Apple

The vast majority of American college students attend two thousand or so private andpublic institutions that might be described as the Middle--reputable educational institutions, butnot considered equal to the elite and entrenched upper echelon of the Ivy League and otherprestigious schools. Richard DeMillo has a warning for these colleges and universities in theMiddle: If you do not change, you are heading for irrelevance and marginalization. InAbelard to Apple, DeMillo argues that these institutions, clinging precariouslyto a centuries-old model of higher education, are ignoring the social, historical, and economicforces at work in today's world. In the age of iTunes, open source software, and for-profit onlineuniversities, there are new rules for higher education. DeMillo, who has spentyears in both academia andin industry, explains how higher education arrived at its current parlousstate and offers a road map for the twenty-first century. He describes the evolving model for highereducation, from European universities based on a medieval model to American land-grant colleges toApple's iTunes U and MIT's OpenCourseWare. He offers ten rules to help colleges reinvent themselves(including "Don't romanticize your weaknesses") and argues for a focus on teachingundergraduates. DeMillo's message--for colleges and universities, students,alumni, parents, employers, and politicians--is that any college or university can change course ifit defines a compelling value proposition (one not based in "institutional envy" ofHarvard and Berkeley) and imagines an institution that delivers it.

New Life for Historically Black Colleges and Universities

In December 2008, Georgia state senator Seth Harp ignited controversy when he proposed merging two historically black colleges with nearby predominately white colleges to save money. Less than a year later, Mississippi governor Haley Barbour sought to unite Mississippi's three predominately black colleges. These efforts kindled renewed interest in historically black colleges and universities (HBCUs) across the nation and the globe. In this study, HBCU officials and faculty attempt to identify the challenges that HBCUs face, explore the historic origin of HBCU management systems, and identify models of success that will improve the long-term viability of the HBCU. By analyzing HBCUs within a larger framework of American higher education and the cultural context in which HBCUs operate, these essays introduce a new paradigm in the quest to ensure that HBCUs continue to play an important role in the education of Americans of all races.

Business Practices in Higher Education

The new edition of Business Practices in Higher Education helps readers understand the true nature of higher education and appreciate how the academy effectively incorporates business practices into everyday work lives. The authors apply business concepts and models and explain how they can be leveraged to improve the overall efficiency and effectiveness of higher education institutions. Useful examples from a wide range of institutions--including small private college, large public universities, and community colleges--address macro-level higher education and student population issues, while also addressing micro-level issues for individual institutions or students. Business practices are critical to the academic, student affairs, and administrative sides of higher education. This book offers aspiring higher education and student affairs professionals an understanding of the fundamental business practices of colleges and universities. New in this edition: Updated coverage of current practice and research New chapters on accounting, strategic planning, and fundraising End-of-chapter questions for discussion

Slavery and the University

Slavery and the University is the first edited collection of scholarly essays devoted solely to the histories and legacies of this subject on North American campuses and in their Atlantic contexts. Gathering together contributions from scholars, activists, and administrators, the volume combines two broad bodies of work: (1) historically based interdisciplinary research on the presence of slavery at higher education institutions in terms of the development of proslavery and antislavery thought and the use of slave labor; and (2) analysis on the ways in which the legacies of slavery in institutions of higher education continued in the post-Civil War era to the present day. The collection features broadly themed essays on issues of religion, economy, and the regional slave trade of the Caribbean. It also includes case studies of slavery's influence on specific institutions, such as Princeton University, Harvard University, Oberlin College, Emory University, and the University of Alabama. Though the roots of Slavery and the University stem from a 2011 conference at Emory University, the collection extends outward to incorporate recent findings. As such, it offers a roadmap to one of the most exciting developments in the field of U.S. slavery studies and to ways of thinking about racial diversity in the history and current practices of higher education.

Sustainability in Higher Education

Support in higher education is an emerging area of great interest to professors, researchers and students in academic institutions. Sustainability in Higher Education provides discussions on the exchange of information between different aspects of sustainability in higher education. This book includes chapter contributions from authors who have provided case studies on various areas of education for sustainability. Focus on sustainability Present studies in aspects related with higher education Explores a variety of educational aspects from an sustainable perspective

Divided Conversations

Through their interviews with faculty and administrators (from department chairs and deans to provosts and presidents) from a sample of eight public universities in the Northeast and their own experiences in both worlds, the authors provide a unique window into the life experiences and identities of those who struggle to make universities work. The book examines the culture of academic institutions and attempts to understand why change in public higher education is so difficult to accomplish. Many faculty believe that one of their own who becomes an administrator has gone over to "the dark side." One provost recalled going for a beer with a faculty colleague and hearing the colleague complain about the latest memo "from the administration." He had to remind his friend of many years that he was the author of the offending document. Now he was "the administration." He realized that former colleagues now appeared in his office wearing suits and ties and referring to him by his title rather than his first name. The disciplines serve as the tribes into which individual scholars are organized; the discipline is where a faculty member finds his community and identity. Administrators, on the other hand, identify with each other in trying to get the tribes to work together. Though most administrators came from the faculty ranks, their career paths take a different shape, especially in terms of mobility to another institution. It's not surprising that the two groups talk past each other. A chapter is devoted to chairs of departments, who occupy an interesting middle ground. To their faculty, they can come across as a nurturing parent or a petty bureaucrat. The authors recommend training for chairs and administrative internships offered by the American Council on Education and other organizations. The men and women on the campuses of the public universities described in the book make clear the challenges that universities face in terms of budgets, legislative politics, collective bargaining, rankings, and control of academic programs. If public institutions are truly to serve a public purpose, faculty and administrators must find ways to engage each other in shared conversation and management and find ways of engaging the university with the community.

Courtrooms and Classrooms

Conventional wisdom holds that American courts historically deferred to institutions of higher learning in most matters involving student conduct and access. Historian Scott M. Gelber upends this theory, arguing that colleges and universities never really enjoyed an overriding judicial privilege. Focusing on admissions, expulsion, and tuition litigation, Courtrooms and Classrooms reveals that judicial scrutiny of college access was especially robust during the nineteenth century, when colleges struggled to differentiate themselves from common schools that were expected to educate virtually all students. During the early twentieth century, judges deferred more consistently to academia as college enrollment surged, faculty engaged more closely with the state, and legal scholars promoted widespread respect for administrative expertise. Beginning in the 1930s, civil rights activism encouraged courts to examine college access policies with renewed vigor. Gelber explores how external phenomena--especially institutional status and political movements--influenced the shifting jurisprudence of higher education over time. He also chronicles the impact of litigation on college access policies, including the rise of selectivity and institutional differentiation, the decline of de jure segregation, the spread of contractual understandings of enrollment, and the triumph of vocational emphases.

The Fall of the Faculty

Dissatisfaction with the academy runs deep in America. Despite - or perhaps because of - the fact that a far greater percentage of Americans have attended college than at any time in the past, distrust of the higher education system seems higher than ever. The most common complaints concernrapidly escalating tuition prices, affirmative action policies, and - not least - the allegedly left-wing professoriate that runs American universities.Indeed, much of the criticism of academia focuses on professors: they are too liberal, they care little about teaching, and they are too hyperspecialized. Benjamin Ginsberg argues that this common critique puts the cart before the horse and ignores a much bigger issue. In fact, faculty are not theprimary problem with contemporary academia. Rather, the problem lies in the explosive growth in administration in US universities and the concomitant decline in faculty power in influence. Put simply, "deanlets" - administrators without doctorates or serious academic training - rule the roost, andprofessors do not have nearly as much institutional power as they used to. Their decline dovetails with another trend: the growing regimentation and corporatization of the university. The fallout, Ginsberg contends, is negative: a de-emphasis on intellectual rigor and the traditional liberal arts.A stinging critique of how universities are run today, this book charts how this happened and explains how we can revamp the system so that actual educators have more say in curriculum policy.

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer