Research Guides: Higher Education Administration: Sources

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Documents and journal literature on education; sponsored by the US Department of Education.
OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
Periodicals and reports covering education from preschool to college; includes technology, bilingual education, health education, testing, administration, funding, policy. Replaces Professional Collection. Content from 1980 - 2013.
Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.

See related Research Guide: Dissertations and Theses
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Journals and reports for professional educators.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
News dedicated to covering colleges and universities, with articles by experts in higher education.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers dozens of controversial social issues. Includes news and magazine articles, topic overviews, statistics, biographies of social activists, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special-interest groups, and links to reviewed web sites.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Reporting and analysis on issues in the news.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
A daily newspaper published in New York City.

Individual login required using UAB email.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Current subscription to the Wall Street Journal and WSJ membership tools.

Individual login required.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Back issues of periodicals in economics, math and science, the humanities, and social sciences.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
History of Canada and the United States. Content from 1870 - present.
Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historical newspapers, including New York Times; Historical Chicago Tribune; Guardian & Observer, 1821-2003; Communist Historical Newspapers; and Black Historical Newspapers.
American Periodicals, 1740 - 1940 This link opens in a new window
Contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Digital Archives Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 70 primary source collections in areas including African American studies, American Indian studies, American/China trade, Colonial America, Gender studies, Women studies, etc.
American Periodicals, 1740 - 1940 This link opens in a new window
Contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century This link opens in a new window
Contains Federal Government Records, including presidential records, military, and FBI Files, and Organizational Records and Personal Papers, including those of SCLC, SNCC, and CORE, offering unique documentation and a variety of perspectives on the 20th century fight for freedom. Content from 1898 - 1996.
Congress.gov This link opens in a new window
United States Congressional legislation, the Congressional Record, and committee information.
Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
All collections that UAB Libraries has access to from the Primary Sources database are listed below the search bar on the Gale Primary Sources platform.
The Making of Modern Law: American Civil Liberties Union Papers This link opens in a new window
Three primary collections focusing on civil rights, civil liberties, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court.
NAACP Papers This link opens in a new window
Contains internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. It charts the NAACP's work and delivers a first-hand view into crucial issues. Content from 1909 - 1972.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Aims to be the largest collection of women's diaries and correspondence ever assembled, spanning over 300 years and covering the personal experiences of 1,500 women.
Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historical newspapers, including New York Times; Historical Chicago Tribune; Guardian & Observer, 1821-2003; Communist Historical Newspapers; and Black Historical Newspapers.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.