Research Guides: Library Technology Labs: LibLab in Sterne Library

LibLab in Sterne Library

The LibLab in Sterne Library is a technology-focused library space located in the front of Sterne Library across from the HUB services desk. The LibLab provides access to virtual reality headsets, Raspberry Pi kits, computer workstations with applications from the Adobe Creative Cloud, cameras, and other technology tools that can be used for media creation, multimodal argument and digital literacy, digital humanities, and internet of things (IOT) projects.

The LibLab is staffed and assistance using the technology will be provided as needed. Workstations may be reserved using our online system and drop-in use during operating hours is also welcome.

Complete our request form if you would like to schedule an appointment outside of scheduled hours or if you are interested in integrating any of our technology in an academic activity, a professional development session, lab meeting, or another UAB-related group activity.

Computer workstations in the LibLab

LibLab MacStudio Workstation

There is one MacStudio wired computer workstation with a dedicated 22" Wacom Cintiq tablet available in the LibLab. The workstation can be reserved or used on a drop-in basis if available. UAB-affiliated students, faculty, and staff login to the workstation with your BlazerID and Password.

MacStudio Hardware Specifications

Apple M1 Ultra Chip
64 GB Memory

LibLab Alienware Aurora Workstation

There is one Alienware Aurora wired computer workstation with a dedicated 22" Wacom Cintiq tablet available in the LibLab. The workstation can be reserved or used on a drop-in basis if available. UAB-affiliated students, faculty, and staff login to the workstation with your BlazerID and Password.

Alienware Hardware Specifications

11th Generation Intel i9-11900F processor running at 2.50 GHz
32 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce TRX 3080 GPU

LibLab Standing Virtual Reality Workstation.

There is one wired computer workstation with a dedicated VIVE Pro Headset configured for standing use available in the LibLab. The workstation can be reserved or used on a drop-in basis if available. The UAB Libraries provide the virtual reality content available on this workstation, users are not permitted to install their own content.

LibLab Seated Virtual Reality Workstation.

There are a variety of available experiences on the virtual reality workstations. Visit the links from our list to view preview videos of what we have to offer in virtual reality.

UAB Libraries Virtual Reality Workstation Guidelines

The Lab by Valve
An introduction to moving and exploring virtual reality with 6 mini games.
Mona Lisa: Beyond The Glass
A virtual reality application developed by the Louvre as part of an exhibition commemorating the 500th anniversary of the death of Leonardo da Vinci.
Google Blocks VR
Create your own 3D models in virtual reality using Google Blocks.
Smithsonian American Art Museum "Beyond The Walls"
This high-fidelity virtual reality application provides a simulations of works from the Smithsonian American Art Museum's collection.
Medical Holodeck
View digital 3D human anatomy models, 3D digitized and labled human antomy datasets, and medical diagnostic imaging (DICOM) in virtual reality.
3D Organon VR Anatomy
Virtual models of the body systems in the human male. This VR experience includes recorded modeling of skeletal movement including flexion, adduction, and abduction.
Nefertari: Journey to Eternity
Immersive simulation of the Tomb of Nefertari, created from high-resolution digital scans of the original environment.
Buzz Aldrin Cycling Pathways to Mars
Listen and watch as a Buzz Aldrin hologram provides information on a proposed cycler method for a manned human landing on Mars.
Calcflow
Use this VR calculator to input vector equations, create models, then export shapes for 3D printing.
COSM
Virtual art experience that models cellular processes and different magnifications.
Greenland Melting
A virtual reality application that provides information on the effects that the warming waters of the ocean have on glaciers in Greenland. Immersive views of glaciers and simulations of NASA research equipment, including ships and planes, are included in this application.
International Space Station Tour VR
This application provides immersive views of the International Space Station, and includes short videos from astronaut Samantha Cristoforetti of the European Space Agency.
The Physiology of the Eye
Available with either Chinese or English narration, this experience provides information on directional terminology for describing the human body, as well as a detailed interactive model of the human eye.

Technology Equipment in the LibLab

This is a short visual list of some of the technology items available to borrow from the LibLab. Visit the UAB Libraries technology collections page for information on available technology equipment that can be borrowed from the LibLab or the UAB Libraries HUB desks.