Drug & Pharmacology Databases at UAB Libraries:
Evidence-based decision support tool for infectious disease.
Includes textbooks, images, video/audio, diagnostic tests, current practice guidelines, patient education information, & test/study tools.
Individual login required for Review Questions.
The "Big Red Book" provides extensive evidence-based data on drugs. From the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists.
Tool for generating the comparison of up to four drugs. Part of Facts & Comparisons.
Covers peer-reviewed international biomedical and pharmaceutical literature from Embase and Medline.
Clinical reference for drugs (brand & generic).
Free resource.
Primary source for drug information & interactions, herbal information, & patient medication handouts. Includes Drug Comparisons.
Includes general medical information, tools, drug information, news, procedural videos, quizzes and case studies.
Free Resource.
Interface for searching MEDLINE, the online index of biomedical journal article citations from 1950 to present. Premiere database of medical literature.
Free resource. Off-campus access to UAB licensed full text requires Blazer ID & password.
See related Research Guides: PubMed via LHL and Making the Most of My NCBI
Clinical information tool. No individual registration required for web access.
Registration required for mobile access. You will need to login to update your registration (every 90 days).
American Botanical Resources include: HerbalGram online, HerbClip online, Healthy Ingredients, Commission E Monographs, Expanded Commission E Monographs, & HerbMedPro.
Provides information on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies. Formerly Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database.
Fee-based. View supplements, vitamins, and natural remedies by health conditions, brands, and news items. View warnings, product alerts, and reviews.
Intended to capture all information from the labels of products sold as dietary supplements in the United States. Search products by ingredients, manufacturers, and by intended user (children, lactating women, seniors, etc.).
FDA regulates both finished dietary supplement products and dietary ingredients. FDA regulates dietary supplements under a different set of regulations than those covering "conventional" foods and drug products.
Provides a list of natural health resources and association providers in the Naturopathic fields.
Free. Learn about your prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines, including the side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more. Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about efficacy, usual dosage, and drug interactions.
Free resource database of foods, drugs, dyes, and fibers of Native American Peoples, derived from plants. Utilizes a traditional text search or a filtered search allowing selection of data such as tribe of interest and category (dye, food, etc.) to match results.
Free NLM Resource. Information available for over 86,419 drugs.
The nation's only 501c(3) nonprofit organization focused to preventing medication errors and promoting safe medication use.
The Drugs.com International Drug Name Database contains information about medications found in 185 countries around the world. The database contains more than 40,000 medication names marketed outside the USA and is presented in multiple languages.
Database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Includes data on maternal and infant levels of drugs and alternate drugs to consider.
Identifies drug products approved on the basis of safety and effectiveness by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (the Act) and related patent and exclusivity information.
The searchable database contains information about all FDA-licensed biological products regulated by CDER, including licensed biosimilar and interchangeable products, and their reference products, and FDA-licensed allergenic, cellular and gene therapy, hematologic, and vaccine products regulated by CBER.
Includes an A-Z drug list, pill identifier, symptom checker, dictionary, and more.