Dimensions of Diversity

Marriage (from the Oxford English Dictionary):

• n. The situation with regard to whether a person is married, single, widowed, divorced, etc. (frequently used as a term in official forms and documents)

Marriage (from the Social Work Dictionary): 

• A legally and socially sanctioned union between two people resulting in mutual obligations and rights. Traditionally, this union has been between one woman and one man. However, some societies, subcultural groups, religious organizations, and legal jurisdictions have sanctioned unions between members of the same sex, between several people, or between one person and a spiritual entity. 

Common-law Marriage (from the Social Work Dictionary): 

• Cohabitation by a man and a woman who consider themselves, and are generally considered by others, to be married but who have not had a civil or religious marriage ceremony. In some jurisdictions, this marriage is recognized by law for some purposes. 

Divorce (from the Social Work Dictionary):  

• The legal dissolution of a marriage. Each state establishes its own laws determining the criteria (grounds) for dissolution. Adultery, incompatibility, and living apart for specified periods are the grounds most commonly accepted. Many marriages are also dissolved through no-fault divorce. 

Domestic Partnership (from the Social Work Dictionary): 

• In some jurisdictions a legal designation for those who register as cohabitating unmarried adults who intend to maintain permanent relationships. The designation was established primarily for (but is not exclusively used by) gay and lesbian partners to provide them with the same legal supports and mutual obligations that exist for married couples (such as access to rent-controlled apartments, survivors’ benefits, and family health insurance programs).

Separation ((from the Social Work Dictionary): 

• The breaking off of a tie or relationship. Social workers use this term in several contexts, including marital separation (a husband and wife living in different residences), legal separation, separation anxiety, and separation–individuation. 

Singlehood (from the Open Education Sociology Dictionary):

• the state of not being married or in a romantic relationship. 

Widow(er)hood (from the Social Work Dictionary): 

• The stage of life following the death of one’s spouse.

Why do social workers need to know about marital status?

In the social work, marital status refers to an individual's legal relationship status, which may include being single, married, divorced, widowed, or separated. This status can significantly influence a person's social, economic, and emotional well-being, as it may affect access to resources, legal rights, and family dynamics. Social workers understand that marital status is deeply connected to cultural, religious, and personal values, and that societal expectations around marriage can vary widely. It is important for social workers to recognize how marital status may shape clients' experiences and challenges, such as in cases of domestic violence, child custody, or financial strain. Social workers provide support that is inclusive of diverse relationship structures, including non-traditional or unmarried partnerships, and advocate for the rights of individuals to live in safe, healthy, and supportive relationships, regardless of marital status.

The Encyclopedia of Social Work

Additional Resources: