Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Adding Citations to your Library
The boxes on the right demonstrate several ways to add citations to your Mendeley library:
- Dragging/ Dropping PDFS
- Importing from EndNote or Zotero
- Exporting to Mendeley directly (Science Direct and Scopus)
- Using the Web Importer (PubMed and Google Scholar)
- Exporting from academic databases
References can also be added or edited manually.
Watch this short video to see examples.
Import References from other Managers
Export the references and attached PDFs from EndNote or Zotero and then add them to your Mendeley library.
Install Mendeley Web Importer
Install the Mendeley Web Importer into your favorite web browser to import references and documents from some academic databases.
Save articles to your Mendeley Library as you search.
Export from These Databases
Most library databases offer the export feature, including the ones listed below and many more:
- Academic Search Premier
- Business Source Premier
- Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source
- Social Sciences Full Text
- ABI/INFORM Complete
- PAIS International
Add Files to Mendeley
You can add files to Mendeley by:
- Dragging and dropping a pdf into Mendeley
- Or, by selecting a file and then clicking add files or folder.
- Another way to add files is by selecting file and then clicking "watch folder" (see above) to choose a folder to put on watch. Mendeley Desktop will now automatically add files that are added to that folder.
Export references directly from ScienceDirect or Scopus to Mendeley:
- When reading an article click the export button then choose "Save to Mendeley"
Use the Mendeley Web Importer to import results from PubMed, Google Scholar, EBSCO databases, the Cochrane Library and individual items in many databases.
In other academic databases, use the Export feature:
- Export by choosing RIS, BibTeX, or PDF file format.
- In Mendeley, choose File → Import and select the exported file. (The file may be in your downloads folder.)
Chat with a Librarian
Lister Hill Library