Safety Data Sheets Comprehensive Search Websites

There are several search websites that include very large collections of SDSs from numerous manufacturers.  They vary in how complete their collection and how current the versions of SDSs they include.

Chemical Safety – Search by product keyword, manufacturer keyword, or CAS number.

Note: Chemical Safety’s Global database may contain SDS that have been discontinued or have an outdated version.  It is up to the user to double-check directly with the manufacturer to make sure they are acquiring the latest SDS per product. 

MSDS Digital: Online (M)SDS Search – Search by product name followed by MSDS or SDS.  This search engine “crawl[s] the internet [and] brings back filtered results to the top of the list for msds sheets and sds sheets.”

MSDS Digital: (M)SDS Online Database – This is a collection of over 130,000 MSDSs and SDSs.  The list can be sorted by product, manufacturer, or date the SDS was included.  It built on queries submitted to their online search engine.

Verisk 3E SDS Search – Search by product keyword or manufacturer keyword.  You must register to view documents.  [Currently a new version is being developed, and all you will get is a search results list.  You can't view product records or SDSs.]

Consumer Products Information Database – This database provides information on health effects and on safety and handling of household products, taken from the product label and/or MSDS/SDS.  Some have links to the actual MSDS/SDS.  The database can be browsed by products, manufacturers, and ingredients, or searched by health effects or first aid.

Note: This database was the source of information that was once hosted by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) of the National Institute of Health (NIH) as the "Household Products Database."