This page offers suggestions about databases to search for a review on your topic and search term suggestions for narrowing your search to retrieve the specific kind(s) of review(s) you need. Feel free to leave comments on improvement or comments on other search terms that should be included by clicking on the Page Comments link under the Home and Search Aids tabs.
These are just a few of the many terms that you can use depending on your search parameters. While CINAHL does not have any filters (like PUBMED) that you can use to identify review types, you can use the terms listed in the FILTERS box as search terms together with your search topic terms.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews: The COCHRANE LIBRARY includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment Database, NHS Economic Evaluation Database. It is a source for evidence on the effects of health care bringing together research on the effectiveness of healthcare treatments and interventions.
PubMed: PubMed (MEDLINE) comprises more than 23.5 million citations to articles covering both clinical medicine, biomedical and bioscience research and the life sciences.
Embase: Embase is Elsevier's comprehensive biomedical database covering over 29 million indexed records from international biomedical literature. It is one of the gold standard databases for systematic reviews. It complements PubMed with unique content.
CINAHL: CINAHL (Cumulated Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) provides authoritative coverage of the nursing and allied health journal literature. Also indexed are healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software, and audiovisual materials along with selected journals in the areas of consumer health, biomedicine and health sciences librarianship.
PsycINFO: PsycINFO covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics and other areas.
Web of Science: Web of Science offers web access to the ISI Citation Indexes, containing multidisciplinary, high quality research information from the world’s leading science, social sciences and arts and humanities journals. The Library's subscription to this database is from 1990 - 2011.
Scopus: The SCOPUS database is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources from 1996 forward.
Campbell Collaboration: The Campbell Collaboration helps people make well-informed decisions by preparing, maintaining and disseminating systematic reviews in education, crime and justice, and social welfare. The Campbell Collaboration is an international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions. Campbell is based on voluntary cooperation among researchers of a variety of backgrounds. Campbell's strategic and policy making body is the Steering Group.
Campbell currently has five Coordinating Groups: Social Welfare, Crime and Justice, Education, Methods, and the Users Group. The Coordinating Groups are responsible for the production, scientific merit, and relevance of Campbell's systematic reviews. They provide editorial services and support to review authors. Each Coordinating Group has two representatives on the Steering Group.
TRIP Database: The TRIP Database is a clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.
In the LHL Catalog, use these subject headings to identify books on research.
Review Literature (Subject Heading)
Meta Analysis as Topic
Controlled Clinical Trials as Topic
Evaluation Studies as Topic
Evidenced Based Medicine
Research Design
Decision Support Techniques
Remember that PsycINFO is a psychological database. Whereas PUBMED has psychiatry and medical information, PsycINFO has the psychology information but not with the emphasis on the medical aspects that PUBMED has.
Click on the Browse Methodology link under the PsycINFO Indexes and Limits. Check the boxes that apply to your research. (You will have to scroll down to see this.)
Type of Article:
MeSH:
See the FILTERS box for more search suggestions.