Skip to main content

Finding Full Text: Starting with a Citation

Starting with a Citation

There are several ways to get to the full text of articles.  If one method doesn't lead to the full text, try another.

  • Copy the exact article title or PMID into the PubMed search box.  Then use FullText@UABLibraries to get full text.
  • Try Scopus.  Put the title in quotes and then click on FullText@UABLibraries.
  • Check the UAB OneSearch or E-Journals list to see if LHL has the journal online or in print.
  • Check with a librarian.
  • If no full text is available, request the article from Interlibrary Loan.

Information You Need

When you're trying to find the full text to a specific citation, you will need some of the following information:

  • author(s) name
  • title of the article
  • title of the journal
  • date
  • page numbers
  • PMID

Generally the more information you have the easier it will be to find the article.

Use the tools described on the right to find the full text.

PubMed Article Title Search & Single Citation Matcher

Copy and paste an article title into the PubMed search box on the Lister Hill Library homepage and click Search.

 

                

 

When you locate the correct article, click the article's title link which will take you to article abstract.  In the upper right hand corner, select the Full Text @UABLibraries button to see if we have the full text.

 

You can also use the PubMed Single Citation Matcher located on PubMed's homepage under PubMed Tools.  Enter the citation information and click Go. 

 

Once the citation appears, you'll need to click on the Full Text @UABLibraries button and follow the steps to see if we have the full text.

Google Scholar

In Google Scholar, you'll need to set your preferences to show UAB Libraries' holdings. 

From your results list, click on the link for "Find it @ UAB" next to the citation.  If UAB Libraries has the article the "Find it @ UAB" link will take you directly to the article.  If UAB Libraries does not have the article, the "Find it @ UAB" link will take you to UAB Libraries' catalog, which has a link to request the article. 

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer