Diagnosaurus is a reference tool to aid differential diagnosis. Includes over 1,000 diagnoses that are browsable & searchable. For iOS, Android, & Windows Mobile $1.99. Free for Palm, & BlackBerry. Mobile site version available for free through AccessMedicine Mobile after you create a free account. For information on setting up free access to the mobile site see Diagnosaurus on the databases page. Mobile site does not allow you to save favorites, all other features and content are the same.
First Consult is an ideal app for answering evidence-based questions at the point of care. Extensive content is downloaded with the apps initial download so content can be accessed without Internet connectivity. For iOS. Free; To access First Consult for free via UAB's institutional subscription create a personal account.
uCentral lets you search MEDLINE and use the ABX Guide. It is free to UAB users and has better search and limit features than many of the PubMed apps. For information on setting up the uCentral app see the uCentral page of this guide. iOS, Android, Windows, RIM. Free to UAB users.
Visual Dx includes thousands of images to aid diagnosis of dermatological and other visual conditions. For iOS, and Android. Free for UAB affiliates through Lister Hill's subscription to Visual Dx.
MedPage Today Mobile offers breaking medical news, audio & video reports and free CME/CE courses for physicians & other health care professionals. For iPhone, iOS. Free.
Medscape offers useful reference tools including drug reference and interaction checker, procedures reference and daily medical news and alerts. For iOS & Android. Free.
Epocrates is a mobile drug reference resource for point of care use. The app offers clinical information on thousands of prescription medications and the drug interaction checker allows you to check up to 30 drugs at a time. For iOS, BlackBerry, Palm, Android, & Windows Mobile. Free. Premium version with additional tools require subscription. Several subscription levels are offered ranging from $100 to $200 per year.
UAB users have free access to the Johns Hopkins ABX Guide through uCentral. The ABX Guide provides current, authoritative, comprehensive information on anti-microbial agents, infectious diseases, and commonly-encountered pathogens. Includes expert recommendations, clinical and diagnostic decision-making tools, and drug-to-drug interactions. To set up the uCentral app, see the uCentral page of this guide. For iOS and Android.
Skyscape RxDrugs Dosing Companion provides dosing guidelines on thousands of brand name and generic drugs and includes approximately 400 weight-based drug dosing calculators. For iPhone, iPad, & iPod Touch. Download Skyscape and search RxDrugs in the Skyscape store to add this free component. Free.
Contact us:
Lister Hill Library
2nd Floor
205-934-2231
Sterne Library
HUB Desk
205-934-6364