Skip to main content

Poster Presentations: Poster Design

10 Simple Rules for a Good Poster Presentation

  1. Define the Purpose
  2. Sell Your Work in 10 Seconds
  3. The Title is Important
  4. Poster Acceptance Means Nothing
  5. Many of the Rules for Writing a Good Paper Apply to Posters, Too
  6. Good Posters Have Unique Features Not Pertinent to Papers
  7. Layout and Format Are Critical
  8. Content Is Important, but Keep It Concise
  9. Posters Should Have Your Personality
  10. The Impact of a Poster Happens Both During and After the Poster Session

Writing Abstracts & Developing Posters

  • Why present at national meetings?
  • Getting Started
  • The Abstract for an Original Research Study
  • Preparing Posters
  • What goes on the Poster?
  • The Poster Presentation
  • After the Presentation

Software

Microsoft PowerPoint or Publisher: Available on computers throughout campus. Easy to use and save your poster in a variety of file formats.

Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator, or InDesign: Available on computers in the Media Commons, Heritage Hall Room 334. These are more advanced software tools, but they also allow you to save the files in multiple formats.

Images & Copyright

Below are some great places to look for images. It is important to understand Copyright when using images that are not your own. For more information about a copyright and citing images, please look at our Copyright Guide.

  • Artstor: UAB database with millions of images representing a variety of disciplines. For information on acceptable use, visit their website
  • Flickr Commons: A collection of photographs with no known copyright restrictions from Flickr. Includes image archives from the New York Public Library available through a partnership project. 
  • Wikimedia Commons: A collection of freely available media hosted by the Wikimedia group. Images in the Wikimedia commons often have creative commons licenses which may permit a variety of reuses, depending on the type of license obtained by a creator. Check individual image pages for more information on licenses. 
  • USDA Pomological Watercolor Collection: A collection of 7,584 images commissioned by the USDA. 

Resources on the Web

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer