Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Economics: UAB Databases

Catalog

Below are just a few examples of the wealth of books that can be found in the catalog.

Examples from the Catalog

The Wealth of Nations

Books I-III of The Wealth of Nations examine the 'division of labour' as the key to economic growth, by ensuring the interdependence of individuals within society. They also cover the origins of money and the importance of wages, profit, rent and stocks. Smith's work laid the foundations of economic theory in general and 'classical' economics in particular, but the real sophistication of his analysis derives from the fact that it also encompasses a combination of ethics, philosophy and history to create a vast panorama of society.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies

"Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies provides students and business leaders with a thorough understanding of the current and historical economic development of approximately 200 foreign nations. Clearly arranged by country within broad geographic regions, the "Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies provides accurate, in-depth analysis of each country's economic environment, reliable statistics on the country's current economic conditions and trends and key demographics of the nation's citizens.

Economic Thinkers

Who are the individuals whose novel ideas, writings, and philosophies have influenced economics throughout history--and in doing so, have helped change the world? This encyclopedia provides a readable study of economics by examining the great economists themselves.

Freakonomics

Which is more dangerous, a gun or a swimming pool? What do schoolteachers and sumo wrestlers have in common? Why do drug dealers still live with their moms? How much do parents really matter? How did the legalization of abortion affect the rate of violent crime? Through forceful storytelling and wry insight, Levitt and Dubner show that economics is, at root, the study of incentives--how people get what they want, or need, especially when other people want or need the same thing. 

Quick Access Resource

Econlit
Limit Your Results

EconLit is th American Economic Association's comprehensive resource to economic literature. This resource includes but is not limited to, journal, articles, working papers, dissertations, and books. It covers all the fields of economics and many times in your research this may be a one stop resource for your economic literature needs.

EconLit Guide

Above is a video that can help you understanding searching in EconLit. In it I go through a mock search on nurses wages in the medical field. Remember there are tons of different ways to search and find resources that are successful I simply share my favorite method.

Notes on Searching:

Think of the search as a target, start broad and then hone in on what you want by being more specific with your words, or adding words and limiters.

Unless prompted to do so do not use the full text box. There are ways to get many of the articles that we do not have full access to immediately and sometimes these can be exactly what you are looking for.

If you have any problems ask a librarian!

Resources

Above you can find the home for all databases on UAB's website but below are some databases specifically on the subject you might find helpful.

Browzine though an extremely useful tool for searching through journals does not contain every journal that is available at UAB. 

 

Below you can find some good examples of prestigious journals that you can access from the UAB databases.

 

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer