This guide is a starting point for civil, construction, and environmental engineering research in the Sterne Library. For further information on library materials and other resources, consult the STEM Librarian for Engineering.
Databases
This page has lists of databases that you can use to search for topics from general engineering to specific domains, such as civil or mechanical engineering. At the bottom, there are also some general databases that can be useful for more broad searching.
Codes, Specifications, and Standards
UAB has access to many sources for codes, specifications, and standards, some of which are fairly general and some of which are very field-specific. If the specific standard you're looking for isn't represented here, reach out to your STEM Librarian about gaining access to what you need.
Handbooks and Encyclopedias
Engineering, like many other STEM fields, have great handbooks and encyclopedias with standard definitions and descriptions of a wide variety of topics. This is a collection of a few resources from the UAB Libraries, separated by engineering discipline. This is not an exhaustive list - there are many more on a wide variety of topics available at UAB - but this should be a great place to start.
Current News Sources
There are many websites that cover current events in science, engineering, and technology. Here you can find a list of several of these websites that are popular. If you have a website you love, feel free to recommend it to be added to the list.
Citations in Engineering
Once you have selected sources to use as references in your own work, you will need to cite where your information came from. Check here for information on a variety of commonly-used Engineering citation styles.
The design of this page was partly adapted from Research: By Course, Subject, or Topic, by University of Arizona Libraries, © 2020 The Arizona Board of Regents on behalf of The University of Arizona, licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.