Handbooks condense, often into one volume, an enormous amount of information on a given field of knowledge. In addition to descriptive text, handbooks include definitions, formulas, diagrams, and bibliographic references to more comprehensive information sources. There are several current engineering handbooks in the Reference Collection on the 1st floor and in the Circulating Collection on the 3rd floor, as well as some available online.
The following resources are by no means a complete view of the large number of resources available through the UAB Libraries. There are many more handbooks and encyclopedias available, especially those that apply to very specific aspects of these fields of engineering. (For example, many of the ASM Handbooks are available through the database Knovel!) If you don't see what you're looking for here, you are encouraged to use OneSearch on the UAB Library website or reach out to your subject librarian for help!
If the item you're interested in is listed as being (Shelved in Remote Storage), you can request that the item be delivered to either Lister Hill Library or Mervyn H. Sterne Library. The UAB Courier Service will deliver the material for you accordingly once it is requested - you can follow the hyperlink to learn more about making these requests.
The UAB Libraries have access to the complete multi-volume ASM Handbook (first and second series) through Knovel. To see a list of the available volumes
The design of this page was partly adapted from Research: By Course, Subject, or Topic, by University of Arizona Libraries, © 2020 The Arizona Board of Regents on behalf of The University of Arizona, licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.