First time users must register and create a username and password for SciFinder.
Registration requires a valid UAB email address.
Instructions for activating your SciFinder account will be sent to your email address.
Consult the CAS SciFinder training page for more help documents, videos, and tutorials.
SciFinder is the most comprehensive database for the chemical literature. It is produced by the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) which is a division of the American Chemical Society (ACS).
SciFinder is a collection of CAS databases plus MEDLINE.
|CAPLUS||References||Covers the chemical literature from 1907 to the present. Online version of Chemical Abstracts.|
|MEDLINE||References||Covers the biomedical literature from 1946 to the present. Free version is PubMed.|
|REGISTRY||Substances||Provides information about organic and inorganic substances from 1965 to the present.|
|CHEMCATS||Substances||Provides information for suppliers of commercially available chemicals.|
|CHEMLIST||Substances||Provides information for inventoried or regulated chemicals from 1980 to the present.|
|CASREACT||Reactions||Provides information for reactions from 1985 to the present.|
SciFinder may be explored by references, substances, and reactions.
Tip: Identify main concepts in the research question then brainstorm about keywords such as synonyms, narrower (more specific) terms, broader (more general) terms, and related terms that describe the concepts.
CAS Registry Number is a unique identifier assigned to a substance by the Chemical Abstracts Service.
Tip: Search for substances in SciFinder using the registry number to retrieve results for synonyms (chemical name, trade name, systematic name, molecular formula, etc.).
CH 119 Reagent List
Tip: Search for reagents as research topic (see best practices for natural language).
Tip: Remove duplicate MEDLINE records and limit results to journal articles written in English.
Tip: Refine or analyze results by other concepts.
Synonyms (up to three) may be added in parentheses separated by commas after the concept
Tip: Click on link to other sources or other sources to determine if full-text is available through UAB Libraries.
Tip: Search for reagents and/or products as substances.
May need to sort results by number of references to find best match
Tip: Export as image to use structure in other applications such as Word or PowerPoint.
Tip: Search for reagents as reaction.
Tip: Analyze the results and look for metals on reagent list.
Tip: Group the results by transformation.