Research Guides: School of Medicine Clerkships: All Clerkships

EBP

This video plays well at 2x speed!

Welcome! These resources are helpful for all Clerkships. For specialized resources, click on the specific clerkship on the navigation menu.

Resources for ALL Clerkships

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Clinical information tool.

Mobile access available. Use database link to register for an UTD account. Download the free app from your device's app store then log in with UTD username & password. To reestablish connection, use the database link and log in with UTD username and password.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

See related Research Guides: PubMed via LHL and Making the Most of My NCBI
Embase This link opens in a new window
Covers peer-reviewed international biomedical literature. Content from 1947 - present.

See related Research Guide: Embase at UAB Libraries
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources.

See related Research Guides: Scopus
e-Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Interactive human anatomy atlas. Designed for use by doctors, radiologists, students, & medical imaging specialists.

Aquifer Family Medicine This link opens in a new window
Covers the full range of Society of Teachers of Family Medicine (STFM) curriculum with evidence-based, peer-reviewed and continously updated content on family medicine. Course content includes five Aquifer Pediatrics cases and two Aquifer Internal Medicine cases to help cover the full range of family medicine learning objectives.

Contact your clerkship director, or the SOM library liaison Jill Deaver at jilld@uab.edu, for access.

Clinical Key Practice Guidelines
Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality
U.S. Preventive Services Task Force recommendations
JAMAevidence
Clinical Resources
Comprehensive list of clinical tools, eBooks and more.

How to get free access to apps:

Go to database through UAB Libraries databases list
Choose database > log in with Blazer ID & password if prompted
Create individual account
Install app on your device
Log in with individual account username and password

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Clinical information tool.

Mobile access available. Use database link to register for an UTD account. Download the free app from your device's app store then log in with UTD username & password. To reestablish connection, use the database link and log in with UTD username and password.
VisualDx This link opens in a new window
Diagnostic decision support system to aid in the diagnosis of visually identifiable diseases.
ABX Guide This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based decision support tool for infectious disease.

Mobile version available after individual registration with uCentral.
5 Minute Clinical Consult This link opens in a new window
Delivers answers to questions for professionals in family medicine and patient care relating to diagnosis, treatment and management of diseases.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
Clinical decision support solution that provides evidence-based information to healthcare professionals at the point of care.
DynaMed Decisions This link opens in a new window
Clinical decision support solution designed to enhance clinical decision-making by offering evidence-based tools that allow providers to deliver effective patient-centered and personalized care.
Lippincott Medical Procedures This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resident and trainee solution with multimedia modules on how to perform core procedures safely. Videos depict guidance on instruments and equipment, multimedia images and illustrations, “pearls and pitfalls,” and indications and contraindications.

For access, either log in as an anonymous user or create an account using UAB credentials.

Free Public Resources:

Medline Plus
Consumer friendly health topics from the National Library of Medicine.
Teen and Adolescent Health
MedlinePlus section for teen health.
Older Adult Health
MedlinePlus consumer information for senior health and aging.
Nemours Kids Health
Information for parents, kids, and teens.

Free to UAB Resources:

AAFP Conditions A-Z This link opens in a new window
Created by the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP); contains professional information on common conditions, medical diseases, treatments and health tips (many available in Spanish).
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Clinical information tool.

Mobile access available. Use database link to register for an UTD account. Download the free app from your device's app store then log in with UTD username & password. To reestablish connection, use the database link and log in with UTD username and password.

Clinical Key Patient Education
Information to help educate and empower your patients

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
Videos demonstrating head-to-toe & systems-based physical examination techniques. Also includes test prep videos for OSCEs, Objective Structured Clinical Examinations.
Exam Master This link opens in a new window
Practice exam questions that simulate those on the USMLE, certification review, & board exams.

Individual registration with UAB email address required.
USMLE First Aid E-Books This link opens in a new window
USMLE Steps 1, 2CK, and 3 prep for medical students.
ClinicalKey Student This link opens in a new window
Inclues clinical overviews, full-text books and journals, drug information, procedure videos, clinical calculators, patient education handouts, practice guidelines, clinical trials, and MEDLINE® citations and abstracts. Physicians can earn and claim CME.

Registration for a personal account is required.
McGraw-Hill Medical This link opens in a new window
Sign in with McGraw Hill account, then see "Case Files"

LWW Clerkship Collection

Dartmouth EBM Resources
Comprehensive collection of recommended readings for everything from how to read a scientific article to interpreting result and practice application.
EBP Resources from Duke University Medical Center Library
Easily to navigate. Excellent appraisal checklists and links to readings.
Oxford Centre for EBM
Easy to navigate. Clear language for understanding everything from NNT to making a clinical decision.

School of Medicine Clerkships All Clerkships

Librarian

Browse Medical and Scholarly Journals

EBP

Resources for ALL Clerkships