EDF 362: Foundations of Education I

Research isn't just about finding sources but finding the right sources. The keywords you use in your search can affect whether or not you find those right sources. These databases do not work like Google but are a bit more sophisticated in how they search for the terms you provide. A database search is only going to be as successful as the keywords provided to the search. Almost all databases use the same functions. Once you know what to look for and how it works, you can take that skill set anywhere.

Tips for Identifying Keywords:

• Start with your research question. Pick it apart to identify the most important words. (Not all words are equally important.)
• "Keywords" can include different pieces of information, such as title, author's name, publishing dates, and reference lists and notes.
• Use databases to help brainstorm keywords.

Simple search will usually be the default on a database. Choosing Advanced Search can help you find the right sources easier. It allows searching for multiple keywords simultaneously.

Adding synonyms for your keywords can help broaden your search. Specialized terms can change overtime or vary regionally. Identifying and adding synonyms can help include relevant sources that would otherwise be left out of your search.

Start with an EBSCO database, such as Academic Search Premier. Unlike other databases that require manual input of keyword synonyms, EBSCO databases helpfully provide them for you and separate them with the Boolean operator OR (see below). Make note of these keywords for use in other databases.

Use the dropdown boxes beside keywords to further refine your search. One way to do so is to change where in the article you want the keyword to appear, such as author, title, journal name, abstract, or subject.

The most basic function you will find in a database is Boolean Searching.  Boolean Searching uses AND, OR, & NOT to tell the machine how your keywords should function.

Imagine searching for a pet in a database of an animal shelter.  You might do something like this:

dog AND cat = for kids who want a miracle         

dog OR cat  = for those who aren't sure which pet or have no preference        

dog NOT cat = for those allergic to cats

Refine your keywords further with these advanced techniques:

• Truncation searches for all forms of a word, frequently using the asterisk*.
  • Ex. Educat* will return results with all words having the root “eduat,” such as education, educational, educators.
• Quotation marks search for phrases.
  • Ex. “Special education” will force two words together, instead of having special in the title and education on p. 47.
• Proximity searching puts words within a certain number of words of each other.
  • Ex. Home N10 Family in a search bar puts the words within 10 words of each other, in either direction.
• Wildcards, usually using the question mark symbol ?, replace a single letter.
  • Ex. M?n = man, men

Refine your list of results by limiting publication date, subject, geography, source type, and more when appropriate. Remember that you are looking for the right sources, not just sources.