Use play indexes to identify anthologies, collections, and periodicals that include a specific play.
Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections
The standard location tool for full-length plays published in collections and anthologies in England and the United States since the beginning of the 20th century, Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections has undergone seven previous editions, the latest in 1988, covering 1900 through 1985. In this new edition, Denise Montgomery has expanded the volume to include collections published in the entire English-speaking world through 2000 and beyond. This new volume lists more than 3,500 new plays and 2,000 new authors, as well as birth and/or death information for hundreds of authors. Representing the largest expansion between editions, this updated volume is a valuable resource for libraries worldwide.
Index to Plays in Periodicals
Contains author and title entries for plays appearing in periodicals through 1976.
Index to Plays in Periodicals, 1977-1987
This supplement to the revised and expanded edition of Index to Plays in Periodicals (1979) continues the indexing of plays in the periodicals covered in the 1979 volume that still publish plays. It also indexes several journals for the first time. The book, covering 4,605 plays indexed in 104 periodicals from 1977 through 1987, features all types of plays in a variety of languages, from works for children to Broadway hits, classics, and "closet" dramas. The features of the previous index have been retained in this supplement. The book is arranged in two parts: the author index containing the main entry with all information necessary to locate the play, and the title index.
Index to Twentieth-Century Spanish Plays
Twentieth-century Spanish theater is a reflection of the society and history of this period. During this time, Spain underwent great periods of change as it moved from relative freedom to dictatorship, through civil war, the repression of the Franco era, and more recently to a renewed democratic monarchy. Often Spanish theater resembled other European theaters at the time, but under Franco's censorship it also developed a distinctive style. Because many Spanish playwrights went into exile in France or Latin America, it is not uncommon to find their plays written in French or appearing in Latin American periodicals and books. The current volume directs readers to plays written by authors from (or closely associated with) Spain in the twentieth century. Galician, Catalan, and Basque writers are included as well as those writing in Castilian Spanish. Importantly, the author includes translations into English, wherever they may be available, so that English-speaking readers might have a taste of the richness of Spanish theater of this period. Index to Twentieth Century Spanish Plays contains those plays that appear in collections, anthologies, or periodicals. A great number of plays in the early part of the century appeared in periodicals (often weeklies) published in Madrid and Barcelona. Using the resources of major North American libraries as well as Spanish libraries, these titles have been painstakingly indexed. Users can search for plays in one of three indexes: Author, Sources, or Play Title.