New open textbook on public health in pharmacy practice!
From Special Libraries Association biomedical division:
Covvey JR, Arya V, DiPietro Mager N, Gilman N, Herring M, Lukas S, Ochs L, Waddington L, eds. Public health in pharmacy practice: a casebook. 1st ed. Genesco, NY: Open SUNY Textbooks; 2020.
Looking for health datasets and registries?
Need help communicating your data to the public?
Making Data Talk: A Workbook
Provided for free by the National Cancer Institute, this workbook provides help for effective communication of health stats to consumers, including tips to help avoid confusion.
Looking for up-to-the-minute guidelines and information about emerging epidemics or natural disasters?
Available from the National Library of Medicine Disaster Information Management Research Center, DisasterLit is a database of links to disaster medicine and public health documents available on the Internet at no cost. Documents include expert guidelines, research reports, conference proceedings, training classes, fact sheets, web sites, databases and similar materials selected from over 700 authoritative organizations for a professional audience. These materials supplement peer-reviewed journal article information that may be found in PubMed and other databases.
National Library of Medicine Disaster Information Management Research Center
Disaster Information Management Research web site has links to databases, bibliographies, tutorials, and other scientific and consumer-oriented resources about disaster health topics.
Interested in finding out more about mHealth projects worldwide?
mHealth Evidence Database
Produced by K4Health, this database will let you find literature on mHealth project effectiveness, cost-effectiveness and program efficiency. mHealth is the use of mobile information and communication technologies such as SMS texting to improve health, especially in underserved areas.
The Knowledge for Health (K4Health) Project shares accurate, up-to-date knowledge and tools to strengthen family planning and other public health efforts worldwide.
Interested in the issues surrounding health inequities?
Expanding the Boundaries: Health Equity and Public Health Practice
Dialogue4Health is providing free access to the recorded presentation, slides and other resources for the Expanding the Boundaries: Health Equity and Public Health Practice web forum and book (see below) of the same name. The purpose is to create discussion and facilitate change around the issues of health inequities and their consequences.
Expanding the Boundaries E-Book
You can download the full text of the Expanding the Boundaries e-book here. Look for the button labeled "Download Resource" to access a PDF version.
Need information about chemical hazards and emergencies?
Chemical Hazards Emergency Medical Management (CHEMM)
CHEMM is a free Web-based resource provided by the National Library of Medicine that can be downloaded in advance to Windows or Mac computers to ensure availability during an event if the Internet isn't accessible. The most recent version has some new and updated information, including: 1) updated and enhanced content on decontamination procedures, discovering the event, and training and education; 2) a toxidromes outreach plan to raise awareness and encourage use of the toxidromes throughout the stakeholder community; 3) content to enable emergency responders to recognize and handle events dealing with toxic gases generated by combinations of consumer products or common household chemicals; and more.
Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders (WISER)
WISER is a downloadable tool that incorporates the content from CHEMM into a system designed to assist emergency responders in hazardous material incidents. WISER is available for PC, iPhone, Android devices, and Blackberry devices.
Looking for epidemiologic research?
Need health surveillance data?
Project Tycho is a freely available resource for health surveillance data from the University of Pittsburgh that provides historical statistics on contagious diseases in the U.S. from the past 125 years. The data are available in a range of levels reflecting the varying nature of reporting requirements at the time.
Trying to focus a search to developing countries?
UNC Global Health Toolkit
The UNC Health Sciences Library has created a search hedge for global health literature reviewers to add to searches that include a focus on developing countries. Unfortunately PubMed and other databases do not include articles indexed under individual developing countries in its "developing countries" MeSH heading. This search hedge addresses that shortfall. To copy and paste this search string into your searches, go to the UNC Global Health Toolkit and click on the link under "Developing Country / Low-Middle Income Searches."
Need resources about Ebola?
Ebola Communication Network (ECN)
The ECN, launched by the Health Communication Capacity Collaborative (HC3), is an online collection of Ebola resources, materials and tools from and for the global health community. The ECN is populated with more than 120 resources, including not only social and behavior change communication materials such as posters, brochures and infographics, but also demographic and health surveys of affected regions, customized maps and peer-reviewed journal articles. The site is responsive to mobile devices and optimized for low-bandwidth situations. Its search feature allows users to find materials based on language, type (e.g., public service announcements, posters and fact sheets), topic (e.g., prevention, treatment, safe burial practices), audience (e.g., community health workers, governments, HCPs) and other facets. Users can also upload their own materials, which are posted after a brief review process.
Health Communication Capacity Collaborative (HC3)
HC3 is a five-year, global project funded by USAID. It is designed to strengthen developing country capacity to implement state-of-the-art social and behavior change communication (SBCC) programs.
Interested in a tool that incorporates the impact of your research beyond published journals?
This tool describes the current research into "altmetrics," or alternative metrics of scholarly impact based on online use. Developed by Jason Priem, a doctoral student at UNC Chapel Hill (with support from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation), this initiative has the potential to revolutionize scholarly communication - or, as Priem himself puts it, "bring scholarly communication out of the 17th century."
Are you planning a health program? Monitoring or evaluating a program?
Measuring Success Toolkit
The Toolkit, developed by the Measurement Learning & Evaluation Project (MLE) for the Urban Reproductive Health Initiative, provides a framework to help you identify what kinds of questions research, monitoring and evaluation can answer to guide program design and implementation. It also provides links to resources to put ideas into action. (Users with limited or no Internet access can order the Toolkit on CD - email firstname.lastname@example.org to inquire.)
Measurement Learning & Evaluation Project (MLE)
The Measurement, Learning & Evaluation (MLE) Project is the evaluation component of the Urban Reproductive Health Initiative (Urban RH Initiative), a multi-country program in India, Kenya, Nigeria and Senegal that aims to improve the health of the urban poor.
Need literature and resources that focus on Africa?
African Index Medicus
This resource is an index to African medical literature and information, and is made available by the WHO/AFRO Library. It addresses a notable gap in health and biomedical information sources focusing on the African continent. Approximately 156 journals are indexed in this database currently, and dissertations and grey literature are included as well.
Need information on effective risk communication?
Communicating Risks and Benefits: An Evidence-Based User's Guide
Effective risk communication is essential to the well-being of any organization, public or private, and those people who depend on it. Ineffective communication can cost lives, money and reputations. This resource provides the scientific foundations for effective communications in an easy to use format, and is freely available from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA).