Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PY 326: Industrial/Organizational Psychology: Research Literature

This guide provides an introduction to the psychology research literature.

What is Research Literature

Research literature includes articles published in academic journals covering industrial/organizational psychology.

Google vs. Library Databases

How to Find Research Literature

Library databases are specialized tools for finding research articles in academic journals.

Advantages

  • Comprehensive search of literature in subject area
  • Sophisticated search interface with many limiters
  • Records have fields with additional information about sources
  • Covers sources appropriate for academic research

Disadvantages

  • Requires search strategies for retrieving relevant results

Publisher packages are content platforms for finding research articles in academic journals.

Advantages

  • Quicker process for finding full-text articles
  • Contains subset of literature covered in library databases

Disadvantages

  • Cover one publisher so not as comprehensive as library databases
  • Search interface is not as sophisticated as library databases

When to Use

  • Unable to find full-text for articles in library databases
  • Information overload from too many results in library databases

Search engines are computerized tools for finding research articles in academic journals available on the web.

Advantages

  • Federated search for publisher packages
  • Sophisticated search algorithm making it easier to find results
  • Broader search than library databases

Disadvantages

  • Requires sources to be evaluated since anyone can post information on the web
  • Includes sources not appropriate for academic research
  • Retrieves many results in all subject areas with only a few limiters
  • Not comprehensive since it only retrieves articles available on the web

When to Use

  • Preliminary step to research topic and identify keywords to use in library databases
  • Second opinion when library databases are not producing results
  • Final check for relevant sources not retrieved using library databases

Where to Find Research Literature

Below are recommended resources for finding psychology research literature.

Database for finding research articles in psychology journals

Platform for finding research articles in American Psychological Association journals
All articles in PsycARTICLES are also in PsycINFO

 

   Starting with a citation and need help finding the full-text of the article?

   Starting with a topic and need help finding articles in academic journals?

Below are recommended resources for finding psychology research literature in related disciplines.

Database covering research articles in business journals

Database covering research articles in business journals

Database covering research articles in nursing and allied health journals

Database covering research articles in communication studies journals

Database covering research articles in criminology and criminal justice journals

Database covering research articles in education journals

Database covering research articles in education journals

Database covering research articles in biomedicine journals

Platform for research articles in social, health, life, and physical science journals published by Elsevier

Database covering research articles in science and technology journals

Database covering research articles in sports medicine and physical education journals

Platform for research articles in social, health, life, and physical science journals published by Wiley

Google Scholar may be used to find psychology research literature.  It should be used with caution since it includes sources not appropriate for academic research.

       


Tips for Identifying Articles in Academic Journals

  • Look for results from academic publishers

American Psychological Association (APA), Elsevier, Emerald, Oxford University Press (OUP), Sage, Springer, Taylor & Francis, Wiley, and Wolters Kluwer (LWW)

  • Customize results to find full-text through UAB Libraries (see Google Scholar tab)

Ask a Librarian

Get in person or online help from a librarian with researching topics, citing sources, or using citation managers.

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer