Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

School of Medicine Students: Research your Topic

Liaison guide for the students in the UAB School of Medicine

Search for Books

Search the UAB Libraries catalog

 

Search PubMed

Search Google Scholar

Don't pay for full text! Set your preferences to show UAB Libraries Holdings.

Google Scholar
 
 
 

Finding and Using Books

To use the box at left to search for online books in our collection, change the Everything dropdown to eBooks.  Use broad terms such as anatomy or cardiology.  Once you identify the book you can search for your topic.  To find print books, change the dropdown to Library Catalog.   

AccessMedicine is a collection of textbooks that can all be searched at once.

If your topic is cystic fibrosis, for example, searching for "lung" or searching for "cystic fibrosis" in AccessMedicine retrieves links to several different textbooks covering all aspects of the disease.

Clinical Key contains a large collection of medical texts, videos, practice guidelines and more.

Finding and Using Articles

Use the box at left or go to PubMed via the library home page to search for articles on your topic.  Use the MeSH database under More Resources to search for subheadings for your topic.  Subheadings like pathology, physiology, pathophysiology and genetics may be especially useful.  View tutorials on searching PubMed and selecting and searching using Medical Subject Headings.

Once you have found a relevant article, use the Full Text@UAB Libraries button to access full text. 

Searching for Information on the Open Web

There are lots of good, free health information resources on the open web.  Some to try include:

Genetics Home Reference - Basic genetics information

MedlinePlus - For basic, easy to read information, also tutorials and images

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - Good for finding statistics

Medscape - Synopsis of disease

National Center for Biotechnology - Biomedical and genomic information

Search any of these for your disease topic or for the organ or system.

Chat with a Librarian

 

Contact us:
Lister Hill Library
2nd Floor
205-934-2231

Sterne Library
HUB Desk
205-934-6364

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer