Skip to main content

Hispanics/Latinos in Alabama: Information ABOUT Hispanics/Latinos in Alabama

Information about and for Hispanics and Latinos/as in Alabama

Demographics

Alabama 2010: Summary Population and Housing Characteristics. U.S. Census Bureau, 2012.
www.census.gov/prod/cen2010/cph-1-2.pdf
For Hispanic/Latino statistics, see tables 3, 4, and 18.

Alabama Census Interactive Maps
www.al.com/census
You can view the county map by Hispanic Population and see the ranking of counites in Alabama

Alabama State Fact Sheet. National Council of La Raza, 2008.
www.nclr.org/images/uploads/publications/AL_final.pdf
The National Council of La Raza (NCLR) is the largest national Hispanic civil rights and advocacy organization in the United States.

Demographic Profile of Hispanics in Alabama, 2011. Pew Hispanic Center.
pewhispanic.org/states/?stateid=AL
You can break the Alabama statistics down by county.

Hispanic Health Profile: Alabama. Alabama Department of Public Health, 2003.
www.fachc.org/pdf/mig_al%20hispanic%20health%20profile.pdf
This report looks at all aspects of health in Alabama Hispanics, including diseases and infant morality.

Hispanic/Latino Births in Alabama by Rural Versus Urban Residence (2003-2004). Alabama Rural Health Association, 2005.
www.arhaonline.org/app/download/7037776004/Hispanic+Latino+Births.pdf
One of a series of studies comparing rural and urban healthcare.

Hispanic Population 2010.  U.S. Census Bureau, 2011.
www.census.gov/prod/cen2010/briefs/c2010br-04.pdf
Table 2 compares Alabama's 2000 and 2010 populations. This brief also has a number of tables showing percent changes in Alabama's counties and Latinos as a percent of the total population.

Hispanic Population Dynamics. UAB Minority Health and Health Disparities Research Center
mhrc.dopm.uab.edu/resources_new/Hispanic%20Population%20and%20Business%202.pdf
From the UAB Minority Health and Health Disparities Research Center, this report concentrates on a radius of 75 miles around Birmingham and Hispanic-owned businesses. Statistics are from the 2000 census.

Knocking at the College Door: Projections of High School Graduates by State and Race/Ethnicity 1992-2022. Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education, 2008.
www.wiche.edu/info/publications/knocking_complete_book.pdf
Alabama projections are on page 64, and other Alabama statistics are on pages xiii, 21-22, 43, 63, 115, 122, and 125.

Latino Growth in Metropolitan America: Changing Patterns, New Locations. Brookings Institution Center on Urban and Metropolitan Policy, 2002.
www.brookings.edu/~/media/research/files/reports/2002/7/demographics-suro/surosinger.pdf
Alabama metropolitan areas are mentioned in the statistical appendices: Appendix A includes Birmingham under "New Latino Destinations," with statistics for 1980, 1990, 2000; Appendix B contains 1990-2000 statistics for Latino population growth for Birmingham are under “New Latino Destinations.” You can also see Birmingham information on page 8 of their study The New Metro Minority Map: Regional Shifts in Hispanics, Asians, and Blacks from Census 2010 (www.brookings.edu/~/media/Files/rc/papers/2011/0831_census_race_frey/0831_census_race_frey.pdf)

Latinos and Health Coverage: Alabama by the Numbers. National Council of La Raza, 2010.
www.nclr.org/images/uploads/publications/file_Alabama_By_the_Numbers_2008.pdf
This document shows the number of uninsured Hispanics in Alabama compared to other states.

Number of Hispanic Students in Schools in Rural Districts. National Center for Education Statistics.
nces.ed.gov/ccd/TableDisplay.asp?TablePath=tables/table_05.asp
This table looks at all states for the school year 2003-04.

Pew Research Center: Hispanic Trends
pewhispanic.org/
This site has many statistics on Hispanics in the United States including language use, politics, and racial identity. Search for “Alabama” in the box on the home page.

Resources: Hispanics. UAB Minority Health and Health Disparities Research Center.
mhrc.dopm.uab.edu/resources_new/Organizations_agencies_Hispanic.html
Sponsored by the UAB Minority Health and Health Disparities Research Center, this site provides links to statistical tables, charts, and maps.

U.S. Census Bureau:  Hispanic Origin
www.census.gov/population/hispanic
From the U.S. Census Bureau, this gateway site links to reports, tables, census data, and related topics.

Increase in Hispanic Residents in Alabama Cities

Source: Alabama Hispanic Population Growth 2nd Highest in the U.S.:  http://blog.al.com/spotnews/2011/03/alabama_hispanic_population_gr.html

Books

Alabama al día: A Report on Hispanic Cultures in Alabama. Montgomery: Alabama State Council on the Arts, 2007.
F 335 .S75 A55 2007

Globalization and the American South. Athens: U of Georgia P, 2005.
HC 107 .A13 G54 2005

Irresistible Forces: Latin American Migration to the United States and its Effects on the South. Alburquerque: U of New Mexico P, 2009.
F 220.S75 W44 2009

Latinos and the U.S. South. Westport: Praeger, 2008.
F 220 .S75 M36 2008

Latinos in the New South: Transformations of Place. Aldershot, Eng.: Ashgate, 2006.
F 220 .S75 L37 2006

Latino Workers in the Contemporary South. Athens: U of Georgia P, 2001.
GN 2 .S9243 no. 34

New Destination Dreaming: Immigration, Race, and Legal Status in the Rural American South. Stanford: Stanford UP, 2011.
F 220 .S7 M37 2011

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States. New York: Oxford UP, 2005.
Ref E 184 .S75 O97 2005

Articles

Recommended Articles

AG Census Reveals Alabama Trends.” Southeast Farm Press March 2004. 17.

Brooks, Jennifer E. "'No Juan Crow!'."  Southern Cultures 18.3 (2002): 49-56.

Bullock, Charles S. and M.V. Hood. “A Mile-Wide Gap: The Evolution of Hispanic Political Emergence in the Deep South.” Social Science Quarterly 87 (2006): 1117-35.

Lewis, Anne C. “Growing Hispanic Enrollments: Challenge and Opportunity.” Phi Delta Kappan. 80.1 (1998): 3-4.

McDaniel, Paul N. and Anita Drever.  "Ethnic Enclave or International Corridor? Immigrant Business in a New South City." Southeastern Geographer 49.1 (2009): 3-23.

Mohl, Raymond A. “Latinization in the Heart of Dixie: Hispanics in Late-Twentieth-Century Alabama.” Alabama Review 55 (2002): 243-74.

―. “The Nuevo New South: Hispanic Migration to Alabama.” Migration World 30.3 (2002): 14-18.

Parker, Suzi. “Hispanics Reshape Culture of the South.” Christian Science Monitor June 1999: 136.

Robertson, Campbell.  "After Ruling, Hispanics Flee an Alabama Town." New York Times 4 Oct. 2011: A1.

Yeoman, Barry. “Hispanic Diaspora.” Mother Jones Jul.-Aug. 2000. 34+.
Also available at www.motherjones.com/news/feature/2000/07/diaspora.html.

 

Recommended Databases

Articles are found in Databases.  The Birmingham News has published many articles about the influx on Hispanics in Alabama. You can search the archives on their page (www.bhamnews.com/archives) and then view the microfilm in Sterne Library for dates before 2009. After 2009, you must go to the Birmingham Public Library and use the NewsBank database. For information on finding articles in other Alabama newspapers, refer to the guide Alabama Newspapers in SCOTTY Databases.
Academic Search Premier
Academic OneFile
Ethnic News Watch

Possible search terms are:
      Hispanic Americans AND Alabama
      Hispanic Americans AND Southeast

 

 

States with the Largest Growth in Hispanic Population

Source: Alabama Hispanic Population Growth 2nd Highest in the U.S.:  http://blog.al.com/spotnews/2011/03/alabama_hispanic_population_gr.html

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer