Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BY 429/491/629: Evolutionary Biology

Library Databases

Library databases may be used to find articles in scientific journals.  Use the subject category to view recommended Biology databases.

Web of Science

Web of Science is a collection of databases which includes Science Citation Index Expanded covering scholarly literature in the sciences from 1990 to the present.

Web of Science is a collection of databases which includes Science Citation Index Expanded covering scholarly literature in the sciences from 1990 to the present.

  • Perform a documents search (see tips in next tab).

Topic field searches for the term(s) in the title, abstract, author keywords, and keywords plus.

  • Refine the results using the options in the left column.

Document types may be used to find research and review articles.

  • Sort the results by relevance, date (newest or oldest), citations (highest or lowest), usage (all time or last 180 days), recently added, first author name (A-Z or Z-A), or publication title (A-Z or Z-A).

Citations highest first may be used to find seminal and important articles on the topic.

  • Click on the article title on the results page to view the record.

  • Read the abstract to help determine if the article could be useful.

  • Use the full text links to check if the article is available through the UAB Libraries.

Export button may be used to send the result(s) to a citation manager.

  • Review the cited references (backward in time), citing references (forward in time), and related documents to find more results.

Below are search tips for Web of Science.

  • Boolean Operators – enter in lowercase or uppercase letters
             AND         Use to find all of the terms and to get fewer results   [default operator]
             OR   Use to find any of the terms and to get more results
             NOT                 Use to find the first term but not the second term

  • Truncation
              *                       Use to replace multiple characters in the term
              ?   Use to replace a single character in the term
              $   Use to replace zero or one character in the term

  • Proximity
             " "                Use to find the terms next to each other in the order given as a phrase
             NEAR/x   Use to find the terms within a specified number of terms (x)   [default is 15 words]

 

Scopus

Scopus is a database covering scholarly literature in the life, health, physical, and social sciences from 1960 to the present.

Scopus is a database covering scholarly literature in the life, health, physical, and social sciences from 1960 to the present.

  • Perform a documents search (see tips in next tab).

  • Refine the results using the options in the left column.

Document type may be used to find research and review articles.

  • Sort the results by date (newest or oldest), cited by (highest or lowest), relevance, author (A-Z or Z-A), or source title (A-Z or Z-A).

Cited by highest may be used to find seminal and important articles on the topic.

  • Click on the article title on the results page to view the record.

  • Read the abstract to help determine if the article could be useful.

  • Use the full text links to check if the article is available through the UAB Libraries.

Export button may be used to send the result(s) to a citation manager.

  • Review the cited references (backward in time), citing references (forward in time), and related documents to find more results.

Below are search tips for Scopus.

  • Boolean Operators – enter in lowercase or uppercase letters
             AND         Use to find all of the terms and to get fewer results   [default operator]
             OR   Use to find any of the terms and to get more results
             AND NOT   Use to find the first term but not the second term

  • Truncation
              *                       Use to replace multiple characters in the term
              ?   Use to replace a single character in the term

  • Proximity
             " "                Use to find the terms next to each other in the order given as a phrase
             PRE/n   Use to find the terms within a specified number of terms (n) in order given
             W/n   Use to find the terms within a specified number of terms (n) in any order

PubMed

PubMed is a database for searching the biomedical literature from 1950 to the present.

Below are tips for searching PubMed.

  • Boolean Operators – enter in UPPERCASE letters
             AND                  Use to find all of the terms and to get fewer results   [default operator]
             OR   Use to find any of the terms and to get more results
             NOT   Use to find the first term but not the second term

  • Truncation – try without due to automatic term mapping
              *                        Use to replace characters at the end of the term

  • Proximity – try without due to automatic term mapping
              " "                      Use to find the terms next to each other in the order given as a phrase

  • Automatic Term Mapping – concepts are mapped to subject headings and searched as phrases and individual terms in all fields

NOTE:  Truncation and proximity operators turn off automatic term mapping so may not want to use these strategies

Google Scholar

Follow the steps below to customize Google Scholar for the UAB Libraries.

  • Click on the options menu and select settings.

  • Click on library links then search for UAB Libraries, check the box next to Find it @ UAB, and save the settings

Below are search tips for Google Scholar.

  • Boolean Operators – enter OR in UPPERCASE letters
             AND                  Use to find all of the terms and to get fewer results   [default operator]
             OR   Use to find any of the terms and to get more results
             –   Use to exclude the term from results

  • Field Operators
             author:             Use to search by author   [author:"n miloslavskaya"]
             site:   Use to search within a specific website [site:google.com] or domain type [–site:edu]

  • Word Order – first word ranked higher than second word and so on

  • Truncation – automatically applies word stemming unless searched as phrase

  • Proximity
              " "                     Use to find the terms next to each other in the order given as a phrase
              *   Use as placeholder for term in a phrase   ["internet of * things"]

  • Advanced Search – specify how the terms should be searched, refine by author or source, and limit by date

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ι Contact Us ι Disclaimer