BY 429/491/629: Evolutionary Biology Add Full Text

Follow the steps below to customize EndNote to find full text available through the UAB Libraries.

• Display the edit menu (Windows) or the EndNote 21 menu (Mac) then select preferences (#1).

• On the left side of the EndNote preferences box, click on Find Full Text (#2). 

• Make sure all four of the boxes are checked (#3).

• In the OpenURL Path field insert (#4):

https://uab.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/01UALB/UAB_Libraries?

This setting allows access to full text available through the UAB Libraries for all users.

• In the Authenticate with (URL) field insert (#4):

https://uab.idm.oclc.org/login?url=

This setting allows access to full text available through the UAB Libraries for off-campus users.

• Click on the OK button (#5).

Follow the steps below to find full text for references in the EndNote library.

• Select the references to search for full text (#1) then click on the find full text button in the toolbar (#2).

• If an authenticate with URL was added to the preferences, login using BlazerID and password.

Click on the continue button to close the box.

• Check the status of the full text search in the groups pane (#3).

• Find the results in the find full text groups.  If a match was found then a PDF file is attached to the reference (#4).

Follow the steps below to import PDF files into the EndNote library.

• Display the file menu and select import then file or folder (#1).

• Locate the PDF file on the computer and select PDF as the import option (#2).

If the PDF file contains metadata that can be extracted, a new reference is created with the full text attached. If the reference is already in the library, the full text is just attached to it when a match is detected.

Follow the steps below to manually attach PDF files to references in the EndNote library.

• Select the reference (#1) then PDF (#2) and click on the attach PDF button (#3).