Research Guides: International Baccalaureate: EE Prep: Key Sources

Suggestions

These are not the only resources at your disposal, just some places that might get you started with your research.

Resources by Subject (from the AVL)

Ethnic Newswatch (Proquest) (AVL)
Access full-text journals, magazines, and newspapers of the ethnic and minority press, including selected dissertations and working papers. Also includes HISTORICAL COVERAGE of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959 to 1989.
Newspaper Source (EBSCO) (AVL)
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full-text for hundreds of national, international and regional newspapers, as well as television and radio transcripts from major networks.
Oxford Academic (Oxford University Press) (AVL)
Provides access to books spanning the scholarly list of Oxford University Press. To access materials that are part of the AVL subscription
1. go to the Advanced Search option (upper right hand quarter of screen)
2. click on the "Free" and OA boxes on the left
3. "Modify your search" to fit your needs.
The Oxford English Dictionary (AVL)
Tracks the changing meaning, presence in printed history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words from across the English-speaking world. Revised and new entries are added regularly
Oxford Reference (Oxford University Press) (AVL)
Access Oxford University Press's Encyclopedias and Companions, and a selection of partner publishers’ scholarly works. Includes
-- Art and Architecture, History, Law, Philosophy, Religion, Science and Technology, and more
-- New titles and editions added throughout the year
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier covers topics such as Biology, Chemistry, Engineering, and Psychology. It includes
-- Over 6,000 full-text journals
-- 75,000 videos from the Associated Press that are updated monthly
Encyclopedia of Alabama
The Encyclopedia of Alabama provides free access to reference resources on the culture, geography, history, and natural environment of Alabama.
Opposing Viewpoints
Provides access to credible facts and current insight into today's most debated social and political issues. Content includes:
-- Viewpoints, reference articles, videos, infographics, and more
-- topics like Current Events, Economics, Environmental Issues,and Political Science.
MasterFILE Premier
Designed for public libraries and provides a collection of full-text magazines, e-books, and primary source documents. Content includes:
-- 1,579 full-text magazines and journals
-- 55,000 full-text primary source documents

Biomedical and Life Sciences eBook Collection (AVL)
The Biomedical and Life Sciences eBook Collection provides access to up-to-date resources from trusted authors working around the world. The Biomedical and Life Sciences eBook Collection covers topics such as patterns of infectious transmissions, processes that are responsible for loss of biodiversity, and more.
Energy eBooks (Springer Nature) (AVL)
Provides access to resources on the need for more efficient and less climate impacting energy and fuels.
AccessScience (McGraw-Hill Education) (AVL)
Access to reference material covering all major scientific disciplines including, articles, biographies, case studies, briefings, and videos.
GreenFile
GreenFILE is a research database that covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. GreenFILE provides access to:
-- Content on Global Warming, Green Building, Pollution, Renewable Energy, Recycling and more
-- Indexing and abstracts for over 1.1 million records
-- Open access full text for over 15,800 records
Gale OneFile: Gardening and Horticulture
Provides access to articles covering the practical and scientific aspects of horticulture studies. Content includes:
-- Over 3 million articles
-- Over 100 journals that are focused on Gardening and Landscaping.
Gale OneFile: Science
Provides access to information on the latest scientific developments across a range of science disciplines. Content includes:
-- Over 1 million articles
-- Over 350 full-text journals
-- Subjects covered are Computing, Biological Sciences, Engineering, and more

Business Insights: Essentials (Gale) (AVL)
a business research database that provides interactive tools and in depth analysis of the history, performance, and opportunities of companies. Resources include:
-- Market Research
-- Investment and Financial Reports
-- Company Profiles
-- Industry Profiles
-- Articles from top magazines and industry journals
Business Source Premier (EBSCO) (AVL)
In addition to its robust collection of proprietary journals, BSP includes curation and indexing of of a collection of 1,107 open access journals.
OneFile: Business (Gale) (AVL)
Provides access to over 4,000 business and trade publications covering all business disciplines. Content includes full-text coverage of Accounting, Marketing, Finance, Management, and more
Regional Business News (EBSCO) (AVL)
Provides access to full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian Provinces, including full-text coverage dating back to 1990.

Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO) (AVL)
Alt HealthWatch is a full-text alternative health research database that is focused on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO) (AVL)
Good for browsing... provides access to health reference books, evidence-based health reports, full-text journals, and magazines.
Consumer Health Complete via EBSCOhost (AVL)
Consumer Health Complete via EBSCOhost is similar to the other Consumer Health Complete but with a more traditional search function.
Human Anatomy Atlas 2020 (OVID/Wolters Kluwer) (AVL)
Provides access to medically accurate male and female 3D gross anatomy models, including
-- 3D models that can be studied from any angle and various zoom levels
-- MRI & CT scans, augmented reality, dissection tool, and more
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) (AVL)
A full-text database that covers nursing and allied health topics including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, and more.
PubMed
The Public Access Policy requires scientists to submit final peer-reviewed journal manuscripts that arise from NIH funds to the digital archive PubMed Central. As a result Pubmed (National Library of Medicine) provides access to citations and full-text access for books and life science journals, as well as biomedical literature from MEDLINE.
Consumer Health Reference eBook Collection
Consumer Health Reference eBook Collection is a complimentary reference eBook collection for Consumer Health Complete.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus provides access to trusted health and wellness information for free. MedlinePlus content includes:
-- Information on the latest medical treatments
-- Research information on drug supplements
-- A.D.A.M Medical Encyclopedia
-- Medical illustrations and videos
Health Source: Consumer Edition
A collection of consumer health information that provides access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books. Content includes:
-- Over 20 active full-text non-open access magazines
-- Over 18,800 Clinical Reference Systems reports
-- 13 full-text reference books
-- Full text for current health pamphlets
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
A full-text database that covers nursing and allied health topics including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, and more. Content includes:
-- 140 active full-text non-open access journals
-- 120 peer-reviewed, active full-text non-open access journals
-- 930 indexed and abstracted journals

Black Freedom Struggle from ProQuest (AVL)
Open primary source documents
Historical newspaper articles, pamphlets, diaries, correspondence, and more
Content from six time periods: Resistance to Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860), The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877), Jim Crow Era from 1878 to The Great Depression (1878-1932), The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945), The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975), and The Contemporary Era (1976-2000)
History Reference Center (AVL)
A full-text database that covers topics in U.S. and world history from the earliest civilizations through the 21st century. Content includes: -- 639,000 full-text records from peer-reviewed journals, reference books, periodicals, and more
-- 56,000 full-text primary source documents
-- 72,000 full-text biographies of historical figures
-- 1,700 full-text reference books, encyclopedias, and non-fiction books
Military & Government Collection (EBSCO) (AVL)
A database of journals and periodicals that pertain to all branches of the military and government including over 280 full-text journals and periodicals with indexing and abstracts for over 470 journals and periodicals.

Contemporary Literary Criticism (Gale) (AVL)
includes Vol. 1 through Vol. 499 of Contemporary Literary Criticism. What is considered "contemporary" is a moving wall for each volume.
Dictionary of Literary Biography (Gale) (AVL)
provides access to information on authors and their works.
TeachingBooks (AVL)
TeachingBooks content includes:
-- Resources about a book
-- Meet-the-Author interviews
-- Read-along book recordings
-- 104 languages
Gale Literary Index (AVL)
A master index for the major literature products that are published by Gale. Content includes:
-- Over 130 literature products from Gale
-- Imprints from Charles Scribner's Sons, St. James Press, and Twayne Publishers
-- Cross reference author names and listings for titles of works
-- Access to complete biographies on authors and critical essays on their writings
Gale Literature (AVL)
Provides researchers with the ability to cross search Gale's literary resources. These resources include:
-- Gale Literature Resource Center
-- Gale Literature: LitFinder
-- Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors
-- Gale Literature: Twayne's Authors Series
-- Gale Literature: Scribner Writers Series and more

ERIC
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is a database of indexed and full-text education literature resources. ERIC content includes:
-- Over 1.6 million records
-- Links to over 750,000 full-text documents
-- Access to an education-specific thesaurus that contains over 11,700 terms
-- Coverage that dates back to 1907
PBS LearningMedia (Alabama Public Television)
A free service that offers access to over 100,000 digital resources for PreK-12 educators nationwide. Content includes:
-- PBS content including Odd Squad, PBS NewsHour, and Nature, and Nova.
-- Original content from partner PBS stations including DIY Science Time, Yellowhammer History Hunt, and KQED's Art School.
-- Stream or download content
-- Content available in English and Spanish
-- Subjects include the Arts, Science, Social Studies, and Mathematics.

Resources on the Open Web

Internet Archive
Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, people with print disabilities, and the general public. Our mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge. At last count the archive contains
- 735 billion web pages
- 41 million books and texts
- 14.7 million audio recordings (including 240,000 live concerts)
- 8.4 million videos (including 2.4 million Television News programs)
- 4.4 million images
- 890,000 software programs
more...less...
A single copy of the Internet Archive library collection occupies 99+ Petabytes of server space (and we store at least 2 copies of everything).
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930
This digital collection of historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the start of the Great Depression.
American Memory - LOC Digitial Collections
Harvard Map Collection
Alabama Maps - Historical Archive
USGS Historical Topographic Map Explorer
This app brings to life more than 178,000 maps dating from 1882 to 2006. Previously available only as printed lithographic copies, the legacy quadrangles are now available as web viewable images and free, downloadable digital files. The USGS Historical Topographic Map Explorer allows users to explore the historical maps, save the current view as a web map, and download the maps as high-resolution georeferenced images in GeoTIFF format for use in web mapping applications and GIS. Learn more about the app in the item description on ArcGIS Online.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.

Genetic and Rare Disease Information Center (GARD)
The Genetic and Rare Diseases (GARD) Information Center is a public health resource aiming to support people living with a rare disease and their caregivers by providing access to easy-to-understand information that is free and reliable.
National Organization for Rare Disorders
NORD advances practical, meaningful, and enduring change so people with rare diseases can live their fullest and best lives. Every day, we elevate care, advance research, and drive policy in a purposeful and holistic manner to lift up the rare disease community.
Eastern Ecological Science Center
In 2020, the USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center and Leetown Science Center merged to create the Eastern Ecological Science Center (EESC). Our goals are to align our scientific capabilities with the most pressing conservation and management challenges; establish an engaged workforce that fosters high relationship trust with employees, partners and the public.
Natural Resources Conservation Service
For more than 80 years, we have helped people make investments in their operations and local communities to keep working lands working, boost rural economies, increase the competitiveness of American agriculture, and improve the quality of our air, water, soil, and habitat.
Environmental Protection Agency
Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.

EDGAR - Securities and Exhange Commission
Disclosure forms and documents filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission by companies and funds since 2001.
Women Working, 1800-1930
An exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression.
U.S Bureau of Labor Statistics
Includes information on everything from the export/import price, to state and local unemployment rates, and earnings by industry. Check out their data tools and publications for a deep dive.
Bureau of Economic Analysis: US Department of Commerce
BEA's economists produce some of the world's most closely watched statistics, including U.S. gross domestic product, better known as GDP. We do state and local numbers, too, plus foreign trade and investment stats and industry data.
National Bureau of Economic Research
The National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) is a private, nonpartisan organization that facilitates cutting-edge investigation and analysis of major economic issues. It disseminates research findings to academics, public and private-sector decision-makers, and the public by posting more than 1,200 working papers and convening more than 120 scholarly conferences, each year.
Internation Monetary Fund
The IMF is a global organization that works to achieve sustainable growth and prosperity for all of its 190 member countries. It does so by supporting economic policies that promote financial stability and monetary cooperation, which are essential to increase productivity, job creation, and economic well-being. The IMF is governed by and accountable to its member countries.

National Library of Medicine
The Library started as a shelf of books in the Surgeon General’s office in 1836 but has grown to a collection of millions of print and electronic resources.
National Health Information Center
The NHIC which supports public health education and promotion by raising awareness about National Health Observances year-round. NHIC also helps connect health professionals and consumers to the organizations that can best answer their questions by providing up-to-date contact information for the most reliable resources.
HealthData.gov
This site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.
Kaiser Family Foundation State Health Facts: Alabama
More than 800 up-to-date health indicators at the state level can be mapped, ranked, and downloaded.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
CDC is the nation’s leading science-based, data-driven, service organization that protects the public’s health. For more than 70 years, we’ve put science into action to help children stay healthy so they can grow and learn; to help families, businesses, and communities fight disease and stay strong; and to protect the public’s health.
Familydoctor.org -- American Academy of Family Physicians
The AAFP represents 133,500 physicians and medical students nationwide. It is the only medical society devoted solely to primary care. Family physicians conduct approximately one in five office visits — that’s 192 million visits annually or 48 percent more than the next most visited medical specialty. Today, family physicians provide more care for America’s under-served and rural populations than any other medical specialty. Family medicine’s cornerstone is an ongoing, personal patient-physician relationship focused on integrated care.
National Alliance on Mental Ilness
NAMI is an alliance of more than 600 local affiliates who work in your community to raise awareness and provide support and education that was not previously available to those in need.
National Institute of Mental Health
NIMH's mission is to transform the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses through basic and clinical research, paving the way for prevention, recovery, and cure. We fulfill this mission by:
-- Supporting and conducting research on mental illnesses, health
services, and the underlying basic science of the brain and behavior
-- Supporting the training of scientists to carry out basic and clinical mental
health research
-- Communicating with scientists, patients, providers, and the public about
mental health research advances and priorities

Documenting the American South
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
FBI Records: The Vault
Famous Trials
You will not find every trial deserving of being called “famous” on this site. If the famous trial you were hoping to find is not included, click on the “Other Famous Trials” link for information about additional famous trials. Decisions as to which trials to include on Famous Trials were entirely mine and inevitably reflect my interests and biases.
The Proceedings of Old Bailey, 1674-1913
A fully searchable edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court. If you are new to this site, you may find the Getting Started and Guide to Searching videos and tutorials helpful.
Foreign Relations of the United States
The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.
Women Working, 1800-1930
An exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression.
The American Presidency Project
Hosted at the University of California, Santa Barbara, the APP is a non-profit and non-partisan source of presidential documents on the internet.

Project Gutenberg
Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world’s great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.
African Children's Literature: An Introduction to the CODE Collection at the Library of Congress
This guide is a listing of African children's books donatedby the Canadian Organization for Development Through Education (CODE). These books were published in languages used in various communities in Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Mali, Malawi, Mozambique, Senegal and Tanzania. This guide lists works in Amharic, Chichewa, English, Oromo, Portuguese, Swahili and Tigrinya. The collection ranges from pre-school picture books, to biology and geometry for secondary school students.
African American Women Authors of the Civil War Era: A Resource Guide
This guide provides access to the historic full text of literature, now available in digital format with free and open access, published by and about African American women who lived during the U.S. Civil War. Multiple full text versions are provided to allow users to choose the version that best displays on their electronic device. For each African American female author birth and death dates are provided. This diverse set of women created works that reflected their challenges, struggles and triumphs. The works also embrace their humor, politics, and spirituality.
Language and Literature Research Guides from the Library of Congress
Linguistics Society of America
Linguistics is the science of language, and linguists are scientists who apply the scientific method to questions about the nature and function of language.

Access Curated Resources

UAB Libraries has resources curated for particular subjects, topics, and courses.

For lists of databases based on subject, type, or provider, go to the A-Z Databases list and use the dropdown menus.

If you are looking for online access to journals through UAB, use the search box on the E-Journals page.

UAB Libraries and their wonderful librarians have curated research guides. Research guides requested by UAB faculty for particular courses and subjects can be found here as well as how-to and special topic guides on everything from citation styles to copyright to media literacy.

Links to Databases, E-Journals, and Research Guides can be found on the UAB Libraries homepage.