Research Guides: Resources for Social Work Faculty: Sources for Building your Course

Resources for Film and Video

You may need videos to add to your course. Below you will find databases that UAB has licensed, which you can use without worry.

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Delivers video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Swank This link opens in a new window 1,000 most requested film titles, including latest box-office hits, documentaries, independent films, international movies and classics that support academic instruction and research.
Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window Streaming videos for teaching, training, self-study and continuing education in psychotherapy, psychology and addictions.

Resources for Images

Diversifying course content includes using images of different types of people. Consider not only ethnicity but also age, height, people with visible disabilities and the myriad other people "in your neighborhood." The resources below are good places to start.

archives.design This link opens in a new window A digital archive of graphic design related items that are available on the Internet Archives.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Artstor has been integrated into this resource. Search for images by starting in Jstor.
Disability in the Modern World This link opens in a new window Collection of resources, including primary sources, that support disciplines of disability history and disability studies, but also in history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other areas where the contributions of the disability community are typically overlooked.

Creative Commons Search Portal "For over 20 years, Creative Commons has supported a global movement built on a belief in the power of open access to knowledge and creativity. From Wikipedia to the Smithsonian, organizations and individuals rely on our work to share billions of historic images, scientific articles, cultural artifacts, educational resources, music, and more!"

Resources for Statistics & Gov Docs

These resources are good places for a variety of data. Not everything there is though, so if you need something different ask for help!

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window Web-based mapping application where users can quickly collect data to create thematic maps and custom reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. Includes D&B US Company Data, SimmonsLOCAL Data & EASI Health Data.

National Center for Health Statistics Principal health statistics agency in U.S..
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications Electronic and print publications from all three branches of the U.S. government.
Kids Count: Data Center 'The Annie E. Casey Foundation funds a network of state-level organizations in all 50 states, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands and the District of Columbia that provide a community-by-community picture of the well-being of children and families."

Resources for Articles

There are many ways to find articles. You may start with a specific journal, like those to the left, or you might have a particular author you want to find. The resources listed below are just some of the options available to you.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers current research on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. Content from 1979 - present.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of interdisciplinary fields; includes a broad array of social sciences journals. Content from 1983 - present.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Publications covering women studies, men's studies, evolution of the women's movement, transgendered community, (changes in) gender roles, femininity, gender differences, gender equity, gender identity, and gender studies. Content from 1970 - present.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
A current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. Content from 1981-present.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Over seventy journal titles published by the APA, APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. 1894-present.

Resources for Social Work Faculty

Popular Books in Social Work

Social Work Journals

Teaching Resources

Resources for Film and Video

Resources for Images

Resources for Statistics & Gov Docs

Resources for Articles