Research Guides: Graduate Biomedical Sciences and JHS Departments: Keeping Current

Keeping Up with the Research Literature

Many journals provide email alerts of new issues with links to content the library licenses.
- Use a search engine to find the journal's website. Look for a link such as "Alert services."
- Often the links to articles work on campus only, so copy the article title into PubMed or Google Scholar from the LHL homepage to access the full text article.
Download the Browzine app to scan TOCs and read the PDFs on your tablet or smartphone.
Highwire Press allows both TOC alerts and literature search updates. Learn more.

Citation Alerts: See who is citing your work

Literature search updates: Have a specific search run at regular intervals with the results emailed to you

Most library databases offer this feature for those who set up a personal account.
Contact Kay Smith Hogan for assistance in setting up autoalerts or see:

Alerts to articles from specific journals
setting email alerts to your favorite journals
Create PubMed filter to UAB full text
use when logged into your My NCBI account
Creating your bibliography
Filters to group result sets
finding and using filters
My NCBI: Setting display settings
change default view, sort, and number per page
MyNCBI handout
trifold handout with step-by-step instructions
Saving PubMed searches
Using MyNCBI collections
overview
Using the Awards feature
Instructions and screenshots from NLM on managing compliance using My Bibliography
more...less...
includes starting submission process, managing approvals to get PMCIDs
Managing Compliance with NIH Public Access Policy

My NCBI is a powerful tool for use in PubMed and other Entrez databases. After creating your account and signing in, you can:

Save searches and/or collections of citations set email alerts, and manage them online
Learn how! Click on the YouTube video below.

Set up automatic searches alerts that are sent by e-mail
Select display formats and features like highlighting search terms in result lists
Choose filters to group and manage your results

Use the My Bibliography feature to:

Save your citations as required by the NIH in 2013 for RPPRs

Learn How! Click on the image below to watch the YouTube Tutorial (NLM)
Manage article compliance with the NIH Public Access Policy
- Use Awards View to see whether your journal articles are in compliance , and
- to manage the compliance process (submitting to PubMed Central and obtaining PMCIDs) and
- to associate a PI's publications to NIH extramural awards
Link to your eRA Commons account and assign a delegate to manage citations in My Bibliography (optional)